snes2dosxml
snes2dosxml
Converts Prince of Persia for SNES ROMs to the DOS XML format.
Download: version 0.1
Basically:
1. use this tool
2. dump the xml/ directory it gives you in the apoplexy directory
3. run apoplexy -y
4. save levels
Of course SNES has more levels than DOS, plus you may have to rename some XML files, but... whatever.
I think it's pretty solid for something that I coded in one day.
If there are problems or if you have suggestions, let me know.
Download: version 0.1
Basically:
1. use this tool
2. dump the xml/ directory it gives you in the apoplexy directory
3. run apoplexy -y
4. save levels
Of course SNES has more levels than DOS, plus you may have to rename some XML files, but... whatever.
I think it's pretty solid for something that I coded in one day.
If there are problems or if you have suggestions, let me know.
-
- Calif
- Posts: 553
- Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am
Re: snes2dosxml
Good work, i have tested with pretty well results, but have found some bug in when using floor objects with mixing foreground columns, fallen skeleton and movable floors (>> <<), those give unknow tile and game crash of course.
Also something weird, but the rooms numbers seems changed, even with level beign same layout.
Also something weird, but the rooms numbers seems changed, even with level beign same layout.
Check my Prince in C# https://github.com/salvadorc17/Prince-Monogame
Re: snes2dosxml
The xml/ directory has a "warnings.txt" file.salvadorc17 wrote:found some bug
You can look through it and change things if necessary, for example if tiles cause distortion.
The game should never crash.
Pr1SnesLevEd starts room, row, column, tile and event numbers at 0, apoplexy at 1.salvadorc17 wrote:rooms numbers seems changed
Re: snes2dosxml
I found something I can improve.
Pr1SnesLevEd allows its users to mark tiles as being a wall and a floor at the same time.
This creates an attribute that is stored as the value 3.
Currently, snes2dosxml does not take into account that attributes can have this value.
Pr1SnesLevEd allows its users to mark tiles as being a wall and a floor at the same time.
This creates an attribute that is stored as the value 3.
Currently, snes2dosxml does not take into account that attributes can have this value.
Re: snes2dosxml
Here is the updated program.Norbert wrote:I found something I can improve.
Pr1SnesLevEd allows its users to mark tiles as being a wall and a floor at the same time.
This creates an attribute that is stored as the value 3.
Currently, snes2dosxml does not take into account that attributes can have this value.
Download: version 0.2
-
- Calif
- Posts: 553
- Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am
Re: snes2dosxml
So dos version does not allow to have tiles being wall and floor at same time, how do you will change, for wall? or floor??Norbert wrote:I found something I can improve.
Pr1SnesLevEd allows its users to mark tiles as being a wall and a floor at the same time.
This creates an attribute that is stored as the value 3.
Currently, snes2dosxml does not take into account that attributes can have this value.
Check my Prince in C# https://github.com/salvadorc17/Prince-Monogame
Re: snes2dosxml
The SNES tiles that are both wall+floor are being changed to just floor.salvadorc17 wrote:So dos version does not allow to have tiles being wall and floor at same time, how do you will change, for wall? or floor??
This should be fine, because the SNES wall+floor combo behaves the same as a floor.
You can check the xml/warnings.txt file to see where it happens. (Remember, for Pr1SnesLevEd numbering, remove 1 from the room and tile.)
For your mod about half of these tiles have mirrors on them.
-
- Calif
- Posts: 553
- Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am
Re: snes2dosxml
I have found this in apoplexy, there are broken room links or mod problem conversion??
Check my Prince in C# https://github.com/salvadorc17/Prince-Monogame
Re: snes2dosxml
Level 6 has broken room links: example (mirror)salvadorc17 wrote:I have found this in apoplexy, there are broken room links or mod problem conversion??
You can probably just click the blue "14" once to fix your level. (Make sure you verify the level is correct after that.)
In level 9, you can probably just click the blue "24" once to fix your level. (Again, make sure you verify.)
Levels 15, 16 and 18 also have broken room links.
-
- Calif
- Posts: 553
- Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am
Re: snes2dosxml
Youre talking about fix the rooms in apoplexy, not in prince snes level editor?? Also dont know why, had checked those levels time ago to post hack into rom hacking site.Norbert wrote:
Level 6 has broken room links
You can probably just click the blue "14" once to fix your level. (Make sure you verify the level is correct after that.)
In level 9, you can probably just click the blue "24" once to fix your level. (Again, make sure you verify.)
Levels 15, 16 and 18 also have broken room links.
Check my Prince in C# https://github.com/salvadorc17/Prince-Monogame
Re: snes2dosxml
I was talking about fixing the DOS version using apoplexy, yes.salvadorc17 wrote:Youre talking about fix the rooms in apoplexy, not in prince snes level editor??
Although you could also use Pr1SnesLevEd to fix the SNES version, and then redo the conversion.
Well, nobody is perfect.salvadorc17 wrote:Also dont know why, had checked those levels time ago to post hack into rom hacking site.
-
- Calif
- Posts: 553
- Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am
Re: snes2dosxml
Will be good to have this tool do the reverse process, convert dos xml levels to snes readable format, using PrinceSnesLevel editor..
Check my Prince in C# https://github.com/salvadorc17/Prince-Monogame
Re: snes2dosxml
In 2011, starwindz was working on a PoP1 for DOS to SNES level converter.salvadorc17 wrote:[...], convert dos xml levels to snes readable format, using PrinceSnesLevel editor..
He was planning to use it for a SNES Total Pack.
I personally have no plans to create any kind of DOS to SNES converter, be it with XML or otherwise.
When it comes to PoP, I'm already busy working on the Mega Drive (Sega Genesis) level editor.
-
- Calif
- Posts: 553
- Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am
Re: snes2dosxml
Ok, no problem, ill try do it myself..Norbert wrote:
In 2011, starwindz was working on a PoP1 for DOS to SNES level converter.
He was planning to use it for a SNES Total Pack.
I personally have no plans to create any kind of DOS to SNES converter, be it with XML or otherwise.
When it comes to PoP, I'm already busy working on the Mega Drive (Sega Genesis) level editor.
Check my Prince in C# https://github.com/salvadorc17/Prince-Monogame
-
- Sheikh
- Posts: 29
- Joined: June 17th, 2018, 1:56 pm
Re: snes2dosxml
So with me you just can't start. Because when I double-click on "snes2dosml.exe" nothing happens.
So I wanted to ask how do you run this file?
So I wanted to ask how do you run this file?