Until My Death - classic PoP spiritual successor

Threads about other remakes and ports.
bafael
Scholar Scribe
Scholar Scribe

Until My Death - classic PoP spiritual successor

Post by bafael »

I didn't really know where to put this so I'm making it here and maybe mods can move it if it's not right.

I'm an indie dev working on a spiritual successor to Prince of Persia 1 and 2 on DOS. It's going to take place in a fictional medieval setting and the plot will revolve around an assassin (the player) sneaking into a cathedral where a wedding is being held between a Margrave and a known witch. It's still early on in the project so I'm using a lot of placeholder sprites but I've already put out a few gameplay demos so players can feel around in the engine a bit.

I'm posting this here so that I can gauge interest in the project and maybe round up a few playtesters if anyone is interested.

Here's a playable demo if you want to feel around with the platforming and combat. Instructions are included in the download. The project is being made in Gamemaker 2

Youtube channel
Discord link

I appreciate any feedback and I'll take any questions.
David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia

Re: Until My Death - classic PoP spiritual successor

Post by David »

Hello and welcome to our forum!

Here are some things I noticed while I played through the game.

* If I press grab (space or shift) too early then the prince won't grab.
I know the hint hints at that ("time my grip precisely"), but maybe it needs to be documented more clearly?
It's different from what people coming from PoP1/2 would expect.

* I can't see the opponents' HP.

* The "!" does not appear above the prince's head if he is not standing still.
This means players might miss some hints.
Although, if someone can go through a room without stopping then they probably don't need the hint in the room.

* I reached what I think is the end of level 1 but there is no exit (yet?).