Blocks of Persia

Threads about other remakes and ports.
Alberto
Sheikh
Sheikh

Blocks of Persia

Post by Alberto »

Oh bother! after reading through the thread I'm starting to chicken out, so here goes nothing.

My name is Alberto and this is my first post, currently I'm studying to become a game developer so obviously I decided to remake Prince of Persia because it made an impact back when I was little and the game seems like a doable challenge for a beginner. But as I have read, the challenge is more on the difficult side. So just to keep my spirits up I will take all your advices and take this slowly.

As of right now (and as a non-serious disclaimer) I would consider myself a hobbyist, I know just the basics of programming (currently using C#), I don't have an artistic background and most of my solutions come from playing the game, observation and trying to recreate the behavior to the best of my abilities.

Whoa, what a way to introduce myself lol. Anyway long story short, since last December I started a project to recreate the DOS version of Prince of Persia. Because of the rough boxing method I used, my project shall from this day forth be known as... Blocks of Persia. (sorry I couldn't resist).

So without further ado (drum roll) the first iteration of the project can be found here: https://alberto-luviano.itch.io/blocks-of-persia

Pretty, isn't it? lol.

Being serious now, I would like to have the opinion of the community and receive honest feeback in order to improve. I'm looking forward to learning from you all and tap into the collective experience of the community. For this first post I didn't want to include more detailed info (code, room logic, tiles etc.) so as not to bore you to death, but if you feel interested in the "how" just ask and I'll be happy to share. I'm also willing to rewrite code from scratch if that is what it takes to improve the quality/efficency of the game.