Pop1 Instruments Samples Hack

Discuss PoP1 for DOS here.
DridiSara123
Sheikh
Sheikh

Pop1 Instruments Samples Hack

Post by DridiSara123 »

Hello.

I wanted to ask whether PoP1 DOS can hack in all of the instrument samples and later convert the whole thing into a wave file? Because I would like to use these as instruments for FLStudio.

And if that is possible, which program do I need to hack samples from PoP1 DOS and convert them as a wave file?
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia

Re: Pop1 Instruments Samples Hack

Post by Norbert »

DridiSara123 wrote: November 26th, 2021, 12:40 pm[...], which program do I need to hack samples from PoP1 DOS and convert them as a wave file?
I'm a novice when it comes to this subject, but what I write below might be close enough to the truth to be useful information. :P

Instead of playback using stored audio files (e.g. samples or stems), PoP1 software generates data in real time using MIDI data and an instruments file, which is passed to a chip or emulator that provides FM synthesis (as used by AdLib). Therefore, to get single-instrument samples, you could either modify the MIDI data or modify the software to limit respectively input (e.g. single note) or output (e.g. single track).

Early 2018, shortly before implementing MIDI playback in SDLPoP, Falcury created a package that should contain the necessary ingredients. It has the software (popmidi), the .mid files, the instruments file (res1.bin), and Yamaha OPL chip emulator (opl3.*). The .mid files and instruments file were extracted from PoP1 DAT files using PR, which outputs these resources as midisnd1/*.mid, midisnd2/*.mid, and prince/binary/midi info 1.bin.

So, either modify the MIDI data yourself...
David wrote: August 26th, 2017, 9:37 amYou could try this: Make a MIDI that plays something using a single instrument.