How to play the Macintosh version of Prince of Persia on Windows

Discuss other PoP1 related things here.
Post Reply
realXCV
Beylerbey
Beylerbey
Posts: 72
Joined: November 4th, 2011, 12:04 am
Location: Right here
Contact:

How to play the Macintosh version of Prince of Persia on Windows

Post by realXCV »

Norbert wrote: September 4th, 2018, 6:22 pm
Norbert wrote: September 2nd, 2018, 1:51 pmPerhaps realXCV is willing to write up a guide that explains how to best use the editor on Windows (and macOS)?
In case you are up for this, it would probably be wise and useful to explain how to set up the emulation primarily with screenshots.
I received an e-mail from a non-native English speaker who requested a tutorial with pictures.
realXCV wrote: September 4th, 2018, 10:36 pm I’m working on it.
I'm done working on it.

https://realxcv.com/InstPOP1
User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 5657
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm

Re: How to play the Macintosh version of Prince of Persia on Windows

Post by Norbert »

realXCV wrote: October 7th, 2018, 6:41 pmI'm done working on it.

https://realxcv.com/InstPOP1
Looks detailed.
Maybe the folks at https://www.emaculation.com/forum/ would enjoy seeing it.
User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 5657
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm

Re: How to play the Macintosh version of Prince of Persia on Windows

Post by Norbert »

I'll add the link to PoPOT in a bit, will update this post when done.
[Edit: Done. Also mentioned your guide on Twitter and Facebook.]
Jaffar24
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 14
Joined: May 13th, 2016, 5:56 pm

Re: How to play the Macintosh version of Prince of Persia on Windows

Post by Jaffar24 »

When I use the link to the file you have provided (On the downloading Prince Of Persia page) I keep getting taken to a dead end saying 'Nothing here. Move along'
realXCV
Beylerbey
Beylerbey
Posts: 72
Joined: November 4th, 2011, 12:04 am
Location: Right here
Contact:

Re: How to play the Macintosh version of Prince of Persia on Windows

Post by realXCV »

Jaffar24 wrote: October 11th, 2018, 4:23 pm When I use the link to the file you have provided (On the downloading Prince Of Persia page) I keep getting taken to a dead end saying 'Nothing here. Move along'
Fixed.
User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 5657
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm

Re: How to play the Macintosh version of Prince of Persia on Windows

Post by Norbert »

Jalal has also added the PoP1.hfs to http://www.popuw.com/mac.html
This means you could add an additional download mirror for that file at:
https://realxcv.com/InstPOP1/Step1GS.html
https://realxcv.com/InstPOP1/Step1GB.html
https://realxcv.com/InstPOP1/Step1GM.html
User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 5657
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm

Re: How to play the Macintosh version of Prince of Persia on Windows

Post by Norbert »

Fun little detail about this port: if time runs out while the game is in upside-down mode, the princess room is also upside-down.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxjkEwcSnhI&t=1281
User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 5657
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm

Re: How to play the Macintosh version of Prince of Persia on Windows

Post by Norbert »

Spoiler: show
https://realxcv.com/InstPOP1/Mac1B.html
https://realxcv.com/InstPOP1/Mac2B.html
These are both about BasiliskII, right?
My version has no control strip (mentioned at Mac1B.html).
Nor does it seem to have the Monitors control panel (mentioned at Mac2B.html).
Might be just a Linux thing, or something.
Where would the Monitors control panel be if my version of the emulator had one?
What I mean is, which menu would I have to open, or icon I'd have to click to find it.
[Edit: Never mind. I was using System70_boot.dsk, which it turns out is a too bare-bones System 7.]
Post Reply