How to compile SDLPoP on Windows?

Open-source port of PoP that runs natively on Windows, Linux, etc.
DridiSara123
Sheikh
Sheikh

How to compile SDLPoP on Windows?

Post by DridiSara123 »

Hello.

So I use Windows 10 and under Visual Studio 2022 Community Edition I edited the code of SDLPoP from the src folder a bit, saved the code and now I would like to compile it (so that I can run my edited SDLPoP).

In src folder is an executable named build.bat. When I clicked on it, a folder called "out" appeared. And in this folder is: "build\x64-debug" and under debug there are files and CMakeFiles other files under CMakeFiles folder on it where I don't know what to do with it?

As far as Cmake is concerned, I'm still a bit of a beginner. So I need your help on how to compile for Windows.
David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia

Re: How to compile SDLPoP on Windows?

Post by David »

DridiSara123 wrote: June 6th, 2023, 7:49 pm In src folder is an executable named build.bat. When I clicked on it, a folder called "out" appeared. And in this folder is: "build\x64-debug" and under debug there are files
Sorry, I am not familiar with compiling SDLPoP with Visual Studio.
Is there a prince.exe among the files?
Did build.bat display any errors or other messages? You should run it from a console window (command line) so the messages don't disappear when build.bat finishes.
Did you do everything that the readme says?
DridiSara123 wrote: June 6th, 2023, 7:49 pm and CMakeFiles other files under CMakeFiles folder on it where I don't know what to do with it?

As far as Cmake is concerned, I'm still a bit of a beginner. So I need your help on how to compile for Windows.
I am not familiar with CMake either.
However, CMake is separate and different from Visual Studio, you don't need both of them.

I personally use Dev-C++: https://github.com/NagyD/SDLPoP#dev-c
FluffyQuack
Vizier
Vizier

Post by FluffyQuack »