PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

A user-friendly interface for downloading, tweaking and playing mods.

Moderator: English Moderator Team

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1512
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by David » August 13th, 2017, 11:44 am

Now I tried Total Pack on Windows 10 and indeed I got the "Invalid Enum Value" error.
But I also figured out how to fix it.

Replace the contents of ini\mirror_sites.ini with the following:

Code: Select all

[general]
num_of_mirror_sites=1
current_mirror_site=0

[mirror_site_1]
name=www.popot.org
xml_url=https://www.popot.org/xml/
software_url=https://www.popot.org/custom_levels/software/
screenshots_url=https://www.popot.org/custom_levels/screenshots/
Note the HTTPS in the URLs. This means that Total Pack won't see any redirects.


Also, I found this about the error:
https://groups.google.com/d/msg/borland ... UNcUrkqaoJ
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/391 ... 1_39127652
It seems that redirection might cause an "Invalid Enum Value" error.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3174
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by Norbert » August 13th, 2017, 2:03 pm

David wrote:But I also figured out how to fix it.
Nice. I've also mentioned the fix here.

malvivio
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 16
Joined: March 1st, 2017, 10:41 am

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by malvivio » August 13th, 2017, 9:17 pm

David wrote:
malvivio wrote:So it adds new mods in the list but doesn't allow to install them, cause it still says: Invalid Enum Value
Now, that is some progress.

Malvivio, you can manually install mods this way:
* In Total Pack, select the mod you want to install.
* Click the "Go to popot.org page" button. This should open a new window.
* Download the ZIP file of the mod into the mods\levelset\software\ folder within the Total Pack folder.
* Close Total Pack and open it again.

I know it's annoying, but as Norbert wrote, we can't do anything until Starwindz comes back.

Also, Malvivio, which operating system are you using?
David, I just did as you suggest and it seems to fonction: now I can play mod 179 even if the screenshots of game still don't appear in Total Pack.

My operating system is Windows 10.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3174
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by Norbert » August 14th, 2017, 12:18 am

malvivio wrote:[...] now I can play mod 179 even if the screenshots of game still don't appear in Total Pack.
Note that David has since posted a more permanent workaround to fix the problem.
Change the three popot.org lines in the file ini\mirror_sites.ini that have "http" to "https".

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1512
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by David » August 14th, 2017, 9:27 am

Norbert wrote:Note that David has since posted a more permanent workaround to fix the problem.
That post got into a new page, maybe that's why he didn't see it.
That sometimes happens to me as well. :)

malvivio
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 16
Joined: March 1st, 2017, 10:41 am

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by malvivio » August 14th, 2017, 10:27 pm

David wrote:Now I tried Total Pack on Windows 10 and indeed I got the "Invalid Enum Value" error.
But I also figured out how to fix it.

Replace the contents of ini\mirror_sites.ini with the following:

Code: Select all

[general]
num_of_mirror_sites=1
current_mirror_site=0

[mirror_site_1]
name=www.popot.org
xml_url=https://www.popot.org/xml/
software_url=https://www.popot.org/custom_levels/software/
screenshots_url=https://www.popot.org/custom_levels/screenshots/
Note the HTTPS in the URLs. This means that Total Pack won't see any redirects.


Also, I found this about the error:
https://groups.google.com/d/msg/borland ... UNcUrkqaoJ
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/391 ... 1_39127652
It seems that redirection might cause an "Invalid Enum Value" error.

OMG NOW IT WORKS!!!

There were those three missing S in the http!!!

But, in ini\mirror_sites.ini there is also a [mirror_site_2]
Why isn't necessary adding the missing S also in its http??

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3174
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by Norbert » August 15th, 2017, 7:25 am

malvivio wrote:But, in ini\mirror_sites.ini there is also a [mirror_site_2]
Why isn't necessary adding the missing S also in its http??
Total Pack downloads files from a mirror you select.
The default mirror is "www.popot.org", which is a website that now defaults (redirects) to httpS.
(If you type just "popot.org" in the address bar, you will see you go to https://www.popot.org/.)
The other mirror is "pop1tp.wink.ws", which does not display this behavior - if it works at all.

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1512
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by David » August 15th, 2017, 10:42 am

malvivio wrote: But, in ini\mirror_sites.ini there is also a [mirror_site_2]
Why isn't necessary adding the missing S also in its http??
Because that site is not used. See below.
Norbert wrote:The other mirror is "pop1tp.wink.ws", which does not display this behavior - if it works at all.
http://pop1tp.wink.ws does not work, it gives me a timeout error. (Whose site was that, BTW?)
It's already disabled in the INI, with the setting "num_of_mirror_sites=1".

You could enable it with "num_of_mirror_sites=2", but as that site is dead, there is no point in doing that.

Also, I found a bug: selecting a different site does not take effect until I close the Total Pack.
I mean, when you click the "Start Total Pack" button (in the startup window), then it will still use whichever mirror was originally selected at startup.
The new setting is saved to the INI only after the main window appears.

malvivio
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 16
Joined: March 1st, 2017, 10:41 am

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by malvivio » August 16th, 2017, 11:21 am

So David, you solved all the problems without waiting Starwindz! :D All we users thank you a lot!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

At the end I added the three missing S also in mirror 2 and I found no differences from not doing it, anyway Total Pack works well. ;)

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3174
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by Norbert » September 4th, 2017, 7:05 pm

My content provider has just changed some popot.org settings.
All http is now redirected to https on the server level, instead of (just) as a result of .htaccess settings.
Can someone check on Windows if the default Total Pack now works without modifying the ini\mirror_sites.ini file?

By the way, maybe the entire Total Pack sub-board should be moved under the "Other Tools & Hex Editing" instead of the current "New Levels and Mods For DOS", since the new releases also work with SNES? Or maybe it should become a (main) board again in the "New Levels and Mods" (or "Tools") section. Also, this sticky thread now contains outdated information, plus doesn't mention the - possibly still required - INI modification.

User avatar
Coco
Beylerbey
Beylerbey
Posts: 70
Joined: February 1st, 2013, 3:58 pm

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by Coco » September 8th, 2017, 6:18 pm

Version 3.01 "Invalid Enum value". I don't know if it's the latest one, but, it needs to have modified .ini

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1512
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by David » September 9th, 2017, 10:40 am

Coco wrote:Version 3.01 "Invalid Enum value". I don't know if it's the latest one, but, it needs to have modified .ini
Version 3.5 is the latest: https://www.popot.org/other_useful_tool ... otal_Packs
Norbert wrote:Also, this sticky thread now contains outdated information, plus doesn't mention the - possibly still required - INI modification.
Should I unsticky it? But then what to sticky instead?
The release of version 3.5 is announced in the middle of this thread: viewtopic.php?p=21146#p21146
Should I split this thread there and sticky the second half?

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3174
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by Norbert » September 9th, 2017, 2:39 pm

David wrote:Should I split this thread there and sticky the second half?
Probably easiest to edit the post, add a link to 3.5 and (re)move the "(LATEST)" text.

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1512
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by David » September 10th, 2017, 8:05 am

Norbert wrote:Probably easiest to edit the post, add a link to 3.5 and (re)move the "(LATEST)" text.
Done: viewtopic.php?p=14010#p14010

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3174
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: PoP1-Total Pack: New version development

Post by Norbert » September 11th, 2017, 6:46 pm

starwindz wrote:I found that 'Secrets of the citadel' still do not work on 3.5 since SLDPoP is not included in 3.5. It will be fixed in the next version.
SDLPoP is now also used by another mod, Super Adventure.
(And thus also currently does not work with Total Pack. Reported by malvivio.)
Norbert wrote:
David wrote:It would be good if starwindz was not the only person who can fix Total Pack bugs...
He should make this open-source, [...]
Yes. What's happening now is [...]
Especially since, apparently, starwindz almost never checks this forum or his starwindz email account.
It has been more than a month (August 6th) since I emailed him.
I think maybe he underestimates how much his program is being used.
Didn't take long for someone to notice Super Adventure doesn't work in Total Pack...

Post Reply