Prince of Persia Editing Problems

A modern Prince of Persia 1 for SNES level editor for Windows.

Moderator: English Moderator Team

GabrielJohn
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 11
Joined: June 11th, 2014, 4:31 am

Re: Prince of Persia Editing Problems

Postby GabrielJohn » August 5th, 2014, 3:29 am

I was hoping someone could test them to see the problem(s)...Golden Skeletons Never Die & Exit Doors wont open. I have tried every number to set the Event for the Exit Door, but none of them work (or, at least, they don't work for me).

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1340
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Prince of Persia Editing Problems

Postby David » August 5th, 2014, 9:27 am

GabrielJohn wrote:I have tried every number to set the Event for the Exit Door, but none of them work (or, at least, they don't work for me).

You need to set the Room and Position textboxes under the Event dropdown list. (Click on the open switch first!)
(I wanted to write "do the same thing as for the gates", but then I noticed that the gates are at the same place as on the original levels.)

I also see that some backgrounds are animated on level 2.
I guess it's not intended. Click on one of those backgrounds and set the animation group to 0. (It's between the four tile lists.)

GabrielJohn wrote:Golden Skeletons Never Die

This is not really a problem for me, because the skeletons kill the kid much often than the kid could kill a skeleton.
I usually switch places and run away, if that's possible.

Some graphics problems:
On level 2 and 3, walls look like (wooden) floors. (Yes, I see the stone in the way, but it's dark. The floor is more visible.)
On level 4, at some places, there are floors without floor graphics, or floor graphics without an actual floor.

GabrielJohn
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 11
Joined: June 11th, 2014, 4:31 am

Re: Prince of Persia Editing Problems

Postby GabrielJohn » August 5th, 2014, 6:58 pm

Okay, I will see what I can do to fix it, and (hopefully) give you an update when I done fixing these problems.

User avatar
spartacus735
Sultan
Sultan
Posts: 151
Joined: November 20th, 2011, 12:41 pm
Location: France

Re: Prince of Persia Editing Problems

Postby spartacus735 » August 10th, 2014, 3:17 pm

I modified 3-4 room ( bug texture/sprite ) , try the same thing for make a better mod

Level 2 download :
https://www.mediafire.com/?13sb96pzvka66dk

Image
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> http://www.youtube.com/user/spartacus735 <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< the channel of prince of persia snes mod

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Prince of Persia Editing Problems

Postby salvadorc17 » August 12th, 2014, 12:38 am

Can you help me, i want to know how to use properly the teleports, the only can do is teleport to same place, there should be two connected, what else to do???

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1340
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Prince of Persia Editing Problems

Postby David » August 12th, 2014, 6:47 pm

To connect two teleports, set their modifiers to the same value.
You can set the modifier with the "Door events" dropdown, the label is a bit misleading.
(Note that the room/position boxes are *ignored* for teleports.)

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Prince of Persia Editing Problems

Postby salvadorc17 » August 12th, 2014, 11:58 pm

Ok, now worked, but i got this sprite error when trying to use a teleport that is next to the wall:

why is this happen??

Image

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1340
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Prince of Persia Editing Problems

Postby David » August 13th, 2014, 8:57 am

This is a known bug of the game: viewtopic.php?p=6224#p6224
You could move the teleport elsewhere or remove the wall.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2955
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince of Persia Editing Problems

Postby Norbert » November 14th, 2016, 3:51 am

The person who started this thread has created 3 basic SNES mods.
Attached to this post. (Source is this page, but they only provide IPS patches.)
- Brutal Dungeons has the same levels but makes things harder. More chompers, spikes, etc. (Probably untested. Level 7, for instance, has stars on a floor you need to pass.)
- Easy Breeze has the same levels but makes things easier. Less guards, loose tiles instead of gaps, etc.
- Castle of Glitches uses random tiles and animated backgrounds to hurt your eyes.
Attachments
GabrielJohn.zip
(1.72 MiB) Downloaded 13 times

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1340
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Prince of Persia Editing Problems

Postby David » November 14th, 2016, 6:54 pm

Norbert wrote:- Castle of Glitches uses random tiles and animated backgrounds to hurt your eyes.

From the screenshots it seems to me that he only changed the level type of each level.
But due to the way SNES graphics work, this makes them look completely odd.
The page says "Category: Spoof" :)
His two other mods are "Improvement", and others' mods are "Complete".


Return to “Pr1SnesLevEd”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests