Mod: Secrets of the Citadel

Are you creating new levels/mods for DOS or did you finish your work? Tell us here!

Moderator: English Moderator Team

Falcury
Wise Scribe
Wise Scribe
Posts: 283
Joined: June 25th, 2009, 10:01 pm

Re: Mod: Secrets of the Citadel

Postby Falcury » February 16th, 2017, 11:55 pm

Here is version 1.2.1 of the mod.

This is a 'maintenance' release, with re-enabled replay support, plus some fixes and tweaks. There are no great changes to the levels.

The changes compared to version 1.2 are:
- Brought up to date with the SDLPoP 1.17 release.
- Enabled support for replays. (To record, press Ctrl+Tab; to view replays, press Tab on the title screen.)
- Very minor tweaks in levels 3, 5, 10 and 14.
- Added an icon.

The level changes are, specifically:
Spoiler: show
Level 3: Removed the flip potions. (They were only annoying!)
Level 5: Minor visual tweak.
Level 10: Added an extra health potion, to be a bit more forgiving in the later part of the level.
Level 14: Disabled a shortcut by making one button close two gates instead of one (fix suggested by talpa).


I decided to use this icon for the mod.

Edit: fixed version number in the splash screen; added the icon to the list of changes.
Attachments
Secrets of the Citadel v1.2.1.zip
(4.78 MiB) Downloaded 11 times

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2852
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Mod: Secrets of the Citadel

Postby Norbert » February 17th, 2017, 12:12 pm

Also updated it at popot.org.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 430
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Mod: Secrets of the Citadel

Postby salvadorc17 » February 17th, 2017, 9:17 pm

Just want to ask this mod is possible to complete using only levels.dat file and no SDLPoP version??

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2852
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Mod: Secrets of the Citadel

Postby Norbert » February 17th, 2017, 9:55 pm

salvadorc17 wrote:Just want to ask this mod is possible to complete using only levels.dat file and no SDLPoP version??


Is there a reason you'd want to play without SDLPoP?

This mod uses a special, modified SDLPoP including some unique playing experiences and items that you won't see if you use DOS.

Falcury
Wise Scribe
Wise Scribe
Posts: 283
Joined: June 25th, 2009, 10:01 pm

Re: Mod: Secrets of the Citadel

Postby Falcury » February 17th, 2017, 10:32 pm

salvadorc17 wrote:Just want to ask this mod is possible to complete using only levels.dat file and no SDLPoP version??

It's not possible, because the mod was made to use extra features that I added to SDLPoP. The DOS version does not have these features so the levels will generally not work correctly!

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 430
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Mod: Secrets of the Citadel

Postby salvadorc17 » February 20th, 2017, 10:19 pm

I was trying to play without SDLPoP to compare engine differences, and haved problem completing even firts level, so those potions are really needed?

Falcury
Wise Scribe
Wise Scribe
Posts: 283
Joined: June 25th, 2009, 10:01 pm

Re: Mod: Secrets of the Citadel

Postby Falcury » February 21st, 2017, 11:00 am

salvadorc17 wrote:I was trying to play without SDLPoP to compare engine differences, and haved problem completing even firts level, so those potions are really needed?

It's not only the potions. There are other features and bug fixes as well. The mod depends on these to work correctly.
Just trust me, I know what I made ;)

Spoiler: show
About the first level: that level cannot be completed in DOS at all.
The reason is that the level exit door is the same as the start door. For Secrets of the Citadel, I changed SDLPoP to make that possible. In DOS, you can never exit through the same door as the one you came in through.

AigleFin
Scholar Scribe
Scholar Scribe
Posts: 2
Joined: March 9th, 2017, 10:53 pm

Re: Mod: Secrets of the Citadel

Postby AigleFin » March 9th, 2017, 11:06 pm

Hi everyone,

I have a problem, i can't finish level 1... and the potions are empty ? Is that normal/possible or I'm stupid ? ^^ And visibly I play with SDLPop...

Image

Image

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1259
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Mod: Secrets of the Citadel

Postby David » March 11th, 2017, 12:45 pm

AigleFin wrote:I have a problem, i can't finish level 1... and the potions are empty ? Is that normal/possible or I'm stupid ? ^^ And visibly I play with SDLPop...


Yes, it's an empty potion. I don't know why is it there... Maybe to annoy players when they want to make a single step?

Help for room on first picture:
Spoiler: show
You have to go to the room above that, and jump over from there.
You have to position the prince accurately. You will lose one HP.


Help for room on second picture:
Spoiler: show
You have to enter the room from below.
Break the two loose floors without flipping the guard: The right from below, and the left by grabbing it.
You need to have at least two HPs for this. (There is a small red potion nearby.)
I think you also need to drink the big potion near the beginning.
(I see you already did that as the picture shows 4 HP...)

BTW, how did you enter that room from the right?
For this I need to go down twice from the starting room, but I either fall into the spikes, or fall to death.
(Update: I could jump and fall next to those spikes with the correct positioning. But as I wrote, this is not needed for the solution.)

AigleFin
Scholar Scribe
Scholar Scribe
Posts: 2
Joined: March 9th, 2017, 10:53 pm

Re: Mod: Secrets of the Citadel

Postby AigleFin » March 12th, 2017, 10:10 pm

Thank you for your help David :D ... And it's difficult to take the LP beside the starting room...

You right, i jumped next the spikes one down from the starting room :) But it's unnecessary... !


Return to “New Levels and Mods For DOS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests