Lost in Errors

Are you creating new levels/mods for DOS or did you finish your work? Tell us here!

Moderator: English Moderator Team

User avatar
jjur
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 13
Joined: February 7th, 2015, 10:56 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Lost in Errors

Postby jjur » February 9th, 2015, 1:02 am

Hi!
Today i finished my first new levelset Lost in Errors.

Code: Select all

Starting time is 75 minutes
Difficulty is like original PoP1 or little harder.
Custom levels: 14(15)
Cheat code: "error"

I tried to use some Special Events from original PoP 1. Some LP is harder to obtain.
I hope you will like it. 


Hint :lol: for level 6:
Do 3-6x 4-title jump and your shadow will help you.

UPDATE:
Lost_in_errors_1.0.3.zip
(347.39 KiB) Downloaded 29 times

- Solved End of level 8


Screenshots:
screen1.png

screen2.png

screen3.png

screen4.png

screen5.png

screen6.png

Lost_in_errors1.0.2.zip
(340.48 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
Attachments
Lost in errors 1.0.1.zip
(340.45 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
Last edited by jjur on February 11th, 2015, 4:31 pm, edited 4 times in total.


User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2955
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Lost in Errors

Postby Norbert » February 11th, 2015, 1:47 am

Hi, I'll add the mod to popot.org and such tomorrow.
[Edit: Done.]

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1344
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Lost in Errors

Postby David » February 11th, 2015, 11:37 am

I started playing this mod, currently I'm stuck on level 7.
In the last room, something always kills the kid.
Either the chomper, or the guard; or the gate closes before I could go out.

On the levels I saw many "errors", like the torch+wall or loose+potion combination (level 1), or entering room 0 (level 4), entering a closed exit door (level 3), and even a glitched tile (level 3).

On level 5 I saw something new:
mirror_level5.png
mirror_level5.png (4.27 KiB) Viewed 818 times

The kid on the right is real, the other appears only for a short time after I enter the room, it disappears after that.

User avatar
jjur
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 13
Joined: February 7th, 2015, 10:56 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Lost in Errors

Postby jjur » February 11th, 2015, 1:35 pm

Level 7 is easy.

Spoiler: show
Before last room you have to stop long jumps. You can wait or use small red potion
Ashampoo_Snap_2015.02.11_12h22m39s_001_DOSBox 0-74- Cpu speed-     3000 cycles- Frameskip  0- Program-   PRINCE.png
.

After it only jump down
Ashampoo_Snap_2015.02.11_12h23m41s_002_DOSBox 0-74- Cpu speed-     3000 cycles- Frameskip  0- Program-   PRINCE.png


Kill guard on switch
Ashampoo_Snap_2015.02.11_12h24m00s_003_DOSBox 0-74- Cpu speed-     3000 cycles- Frameskip  0- Program-   PRINCE.png

Go to level 8
Ashampoo_Snap_2015.02.11_12h24m12s_004_DOSBox 0-74- Cpu speed-     3000 cycles- Frameskip  0- Program-   PRINCE.png


David wrote:On the levels I saw many "errors", like the torch+wall

Torch + wall looks good :lol:
David wrote:or loose+potion combination (level 1), or entering room 0 (level 4), entering a closed exit door (level 3), and even a glitched tile (level 3).

I'm not giving some live potions for free. Exept level 14, here you will need it :lol:

:) :) :)

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1344
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Lost in Errors

Postby David » February 11th, 2015, 4:04 pm

Right, I completed level 7 since that.
I figured out that I can get down there without losing HP in the mirror.

Now I'm stuck on level 8.
I could open the exit door, but it's in the starting room, so the game does not allow me to enter it.
errors_exit.png
errors_exit.png (4.17 KiB) Viewed 806 times

User avatar
jjur
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 13
Joined: February 7th, 2015, 10:56 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Lost in Errors

Postby jjur » February 11th, 2015, 4:37 pm

David wrote:Now I'm stuck on level 8.
I could open the exit door, but it's in the starting room, so the game does not allow me to enter it.

I did not know it is a problem. I changed end of level 8. Please download update ;)
Lost_in_errors_1.0.3.zip
(347.39 KiB) Downloaded 30 times

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2955
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Lost in Errors

Postby Norbert » February 12th, 2015, 7:42 pm

David wrote:or entering room 0 (level 4)


I've only played levels 1-4 so far, but I didn't notice a "room 0", what exactly do you mean by this, when does that happen?
I did notice that room 23 is a bit weird in level 4 (the raise button is pointless and the prince dies when he moves right).

[Edit: Played through most of it and it's a fun mod. Its difficulty makes it accessible for everyone and it has some unexpected elements here and there. Nice job.]

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1344
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Lost in Errors

Postby David » February 13th, 2015, 10:42 am

Norbert wrote:I've only played levels 1-4 so far, but I didn't notice a "room 0", what exactly do you mean by this, when does that happen?
I did notice that room 23 is a bit weird in level 4 (the raise button is pointless and the prince dies when he moves right).

That "the prince dies when he moves right" is what I mean by entering room 0.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2955
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Lost in Errors

Postby Norbert » February 20th, 2015, 6:55 am

David wrote:I could open the exit door, but it's in the starting room, so the game does not allow me to enter it.


Can PRINCE.EXE be hex edited in such a way that the game allows the prince to enter a level exit door in the starting room?

Also, what does CusPop's "Stop the second level door from acting weird" mean?
It's referring to "the second" level door, but what this means is probably unclear to most people.
I've been following the discussions on this forum, and I don't even remember what it means. :)

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1344
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Lost in Errors

Postby David » February 23rd, 2015, 8:59 pm

Norbert wrote:Can PRINCE.EXE be hex edited in such a way that the game allows the prince to enter a level exit door in the starting room?

The "Disable entering a closed level door" hack makes this possible.
When I replaced the checking of "leveldoor_open" (global variable) with checking of the door's modifier, I also removed the "level.start_room != drawn_room" restriction -- to make space for the new code. (in up_pressed())

Note that such a level door still won't have stairs. That is decided elsewhere. (in draw_leveldoor())
I have these ideas to fix this:
a) Check the position within the room, not just the room number. (Is there enough space for this?)
b) Check the elapsed time since level start. (Is it stored anywhere?)
c) Do something with the modifier of the tile on its left. For some reason, the game checks modifier_left before drawing the stairs.
The condition is "if (level.start_room != drawn_room && modifier_left)" but it could be changed to "||".
(But then it's a rule that people have to remember.)
d) Use the "leveldoor_open" flag.
But it is set only when the exit is fully open.
Together with the other exit door hacks, it would not be a problem if the game set it when the exit started to open.
I'll try that and post my results in the prince.exe topic.

Norbert wrote:Also, what does CusPop's "Stop the second level door from acting weird" mean?
It's referring to "the second" level door, but what this means is probably unclear to most people.
I've been following the discussions on this forum, and I don't even remember what it means. :)

It refers to the case when you open an exit, and then another one.
It was first posted here: viewtopic.php?p=13128#p13128
I agree it's out of context, without the quote at the beginning of that post.


Return to “New Levels and Mods For DOS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests