Using gpl2jascpal

About PR usage and development, and about the POP format.
PretzelGalaxian
Efendi
Efendi

Using gpl2jascpal

Post by PretzelGalaxian »

First off I'd like to say that I am new to Prince of Persia modding as well as this community.

I have been editing levels in Roomshaker for about a week now and I've decided I'd like to try and customize the visuals by changing palettes. I understand that using the default colormaps is the simplest way to alter the game's visual files; however, I would really like to use my own palettes.

I have followed the guide posted here:
http://www.popot.org/documentation.php? ... PoP1Images
and follow along fine until it gets to the point of converting my custom palette from .gpl to .pal using gpl2jascpal. I have the program downloaded and tried following the instructions exactly as stated, but I'm still not sure exactly what commands to use in command prompt to run my .gpl palette through gpl2jascpal. Any help would be greatly appreciate!
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia

Re: Using gpl2jascpal

Post by Norbert »

Hi. If your GPL file is "filename.gpl", then the command is:

Code: Select all

C:\...path...\gpl2jascpal filename.gpl
You already know how to open a command prompt, so probably the next step is to navigate to a directory .gimp-n.n/palettes/, which is probably somewhere in your home directory.

If you find out which are the exact steps, you could write them in a post.
Then I will add them to the document, for future readers.
(I'm not on Windows myself.)

That document is a bit outdated.
It should also mention SDLPoP and MININIM as alternatives.
And it could mention the Windows batch file (and GNU/Linux shell script) that can be used to simplify exporting/importing with PR.
PretzelGalaxian
Efendi
Efendi