PR and PoP2

About PR usage and development, and about the POP format.

Moderator: English Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
scape
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 14
Joined: September 9th, 2003, 6:01 am

PR and PoP2

Post by scape » January 29th, 2011, 3:47 pm

Hi, I'm wondering whether PR in its present state is able to extract and repack the .dat files from PoP2 correctly. I would like to do some nice graphics up but don't want to start unless I'm sure it will work. I'm assuming it won't, as I haven't found any PoP2 mods around that do this, but then again the community is pretty dead at the moment and the lack of adequate documentation could be putting people off...

User avatar
mk1995
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1160
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 10:09 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PR and PoP2

Post by mk1995 » January 29th, 2011, 10:55 pm

As far as my knowledge and memory goes, PR can extract PoP2's files, but it's rather limited. If you want to make a PoP2 mod, you should stick to just editing the levels for now.
Image
Just to make something clear: I will not reply to daft PMs like "Where can I find X?" or "Can you give me a link to Y?". Most of your questions are likely answerable if only you took your bloody time to look through these forums and use Google if all else fails. Sheesh...

User avatar
floppy
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 104
Joined: October 10th, 2010, 3:26 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PR and PoP2

Post by floppy » January 30th, 2011, 4:20 pm

Export is a little bit supported and that's it.
what should we do without Prince of Perisa? How would called this forum? :P

User avatar
scape
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 14
Joined: September 9th, 2003, 6:01 am

Re: PR and PoP2

Post by scape » February 7th, 2011, 3:48 pm

Fair enough, I'll have to give up on editing Pop2 sprites for now then. I'm having fun editing PoP1, but the 16 colour limit is a bit of a pain. Ideally I would love to be able to edit the mac sprites, but I take it that's not possible either - has anyone poked around PoP mac with resedit to see what can be fiddled with?

Also, I take it that the snes sprites also can't easily be edited (other than palette swaps)? I can't seem to find much documentation on snes sprite editing (there seems to be a bit on extraction, but not so much on putting them back into the game).

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1548
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: PR and PoP2

Post by David » February 12th, 2011, 12:03 pm

I've fixed PR's PoP2 capabilities, now you can export and import most images correctly.
Link: http://www.freeweb.hu/princepersia/en/pr_fix_dl.htm
If you only want to use it, you should choose the "binaries only" version.
If you want to see how it works, there is a "with source" version.
The full list of changes is included in fixes.txt.
For PoP2 files, you should use pop2.xml, with the -spop2.xml command line switch.

User avatar
scape
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 14
Joined: September 9th, 2003, 6:01 am

Re: PR and PoP2

Post by scape » February 13th, 2011, 5:33 am

Fantasic, I will give it a shot! :D

Post Reply