Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Threads about other remakes and ports.

Moderator: English Moderator Team

lvcabral
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 86
Joined: March 11th, 2016, 10:34 pm

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby lvcabral » March 29th, 2016, 8:00 pm

Andrew wrote:Good job on the progress since 0.5. Next step - enemies?

not yet, I will have the death by spikes and chopper, scale the classic mode to 640x400 and fix several mask and crop issues.

User avatar
R3
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 88
Joined: June 19th, 2015, 8:17 am

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby R3 » March 31st, 2016, 9:28 am

and i thought the 4-room mode was great already...

congratulations, Sir, the 9-room mode is just wicked!

Image

User avatar
R3
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 88
Joined: June 19th, 2015, 8:17 am

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby R3 » April 1st, 2016, 6:16 am

also, what's the song you're using in your videos?

it's haunting, yet, i'm strangely attracted to it. Image

lvcabral
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 86
Joined: March 11th, 2016, 10:34 pm

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby lvcabral » April 1st, 2016, 7:02 am

R3 wrote:also, what's the song you're using in your videos?

it's haunting, yet, i'm strangely attracted to it. Image


It's "Time Only Knows" from the Prince of Persia: Sands of Time OST

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mrDEwksdDoI

User avatar
R3
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 88
Joined: June 19th, 2015, 8:17 am

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby R3 » April 2nd, 2016, 12:57 am

lvcabral wrote:
R3 wrote:also, what's the song you're using in your videos?

it's haunting, yet, i'm strangely attracted to it. Image


It's "Time Only Knows" from the Prince of Persia: Sands of Time OST

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mrDEwksdDoI


thanks!

only played PoP1 & 2. never played any version after those. Image

lvcabral
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 86
Joined: March 11th, 2016, 10:34 pm

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby lvcabral » April 4th, 2016, 5:27 am

Implemented death by chopper and spikes, and added several missing audio effects. Soon v0.7 will be released.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BDwyHTukM9R/

lvcabral
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 86
Joined: March 11th, 2016, 10:34 pm

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby lvcabral » April 6th, 2016, 7:09 pm

I have a roadmap planned to release the source code:

April 10th - v0.7 - Classic Mode scaled to 640x400, death on Slicer/Spikes, injury by falling plates, Crop/Mask fixes
April 30th - v0.8 - Slow Fall Potion, Screen Flip Potion, Guards Fight, Save Game
May 30th - v0.9 - (release to GitHub) Cut Scenes, Special Enemies, End of the game (Level 12-13-14), Documentation

A great coincidence (or not) is that May 30th is my birthday ;)

Andrew
Wise Scribe
Wise Scribe
Posts: 313
Joined: July 16th, 2009, 4:39 pm

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby Andrew » April 7th, 2016, 11:16 pm

lvcabral wrote:A great coincidence (or not) is that May 30th is my birthday ;)

Hopefully you won't miss the date and will have reason to celebrate. All the best! :)

lvcabral
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 86
Joined: March 11th, 2016, 10:34 pm

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby lvcabral » April 11th, 2016, 5:01 am

I just published version 0.7 for guys that requested access to the private preview app, I will make a new video with the changes and publish on YouTube.

The changeset of this release is the following:

0.7 - Classic Mode scaled, Die on Slicer/Spikes, Injury by Falling Plates and Mask/Crop fixes

* Add: Classic Mode scaled 2X to be painted in 640x400
* Add: Control options adapted for remote controls without the buttons: Replay, A and B
* Add: Kid will die when running or falling on spikes
* Add: Kid will die when crossing a slicer in the wrong time
* Add: Kid will be injured from falling plate
* Add: Game sound effects: spiked, death, slicer, long fall, harm
* Add: Menu sound effects: menu navigation, menu select
* Add: When level starts in front of an exit door, drop it!
* Add: Turn the kid direction when a level starts
* Add: Use "medland" action on the first level and first room before the "suspense" sound
* Add: Gray border around the game area
* Add: VersionInfo added to the bottom right corner of the screen
* Add: Level transition by falling - not on JS - (L6-L7)
* Refactor: Renamed Chopper tile to Slicer following original Apple II code naming convention
* Refactor: Added a priority system to play the sound effects
* Refactor: Removed deprecated method LoadSpriteAnimations()
* Refactor: Removed the 320x200 mode and the game frame
* Fix: Kid level start horizontal position is wrong
* Fix: Kid can't jump in front of a closed exit door
* Fix: Status bar text center not aligned based on actual text width
* Fix: After death, max lives are not restored to 3
* Fix: Gate tile "front sprite" is stuck down when gate is off the screen
* Fix: Slicer should only start when the kid is on the same elevation and room
* Fix: Kid is pressing a button when hanging on a level below (L1R5)
* Fix: Splash showing in the wrong position when kid is standing (L8)
* Fix: Hang on loose plate do not make it fall (same bug on JS code)
* Fix: Hanging on a tapestry do not consider it solid, bouncing into it (same bug on JS code)
* Fix: Pushing plates and fall keep debris on top (L4R16-R17)
* Fix: Walk is not considering the risk of slicer
* Fix: Crash when changing level when a plate is falling (L1R1-R2)
* Fix: Room transition is not exact (horizontally or vertically) - classic only
* Fix: 9 rooms mode does not draw ok when navigating vertically (L2, L9)
* Fix: Gate opening not cropped above ceiling when in multi-room mode (L2)
* Fix: Some artifacts over floor in some rooms (rooms painted in wrong order)
* Fix: In shift mode if you turn and keep pressing the kid runs (same bug on JS code)
* Fix: Mask issues: Jump crossing up ceiling
* Fix: Mask issues: Falling edge crosses the floor
* Fix: Mask issues: Kid hands showing when climb up/down and hanging

User avatar
R3
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 88
Joined: June 19th, 2015, 8:17 am

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby R3 » April 20th, 2016, 2:18 am

Andrew wrote:
lvcabral wrote:I'm working on a port for the Roku streaming box, I'm using the HTML5 created by Ultrabolido, and will open source it on github when it got more complete and less buggy.

Wow, looks great already! I never bought a Roku, but your port has got me wondering just how difficult it might be to get SDLPoP compiled for Linux directly working on any of the WD TV models with WDLXTV installed. Hmm...

Does your port work only with a keyboard or is some sort of controller support possible with the Roku?

R3 wrote:i prefer more traditional developers. :)

I do too. :) Perhaps David or Falcury or someone else will consider multi-room as a future option for SDLPoP. The experience on a big-screen TV could certainly be great depending on the level design. Speaking of which, for those who like a challenge it would be better to turn off the option for levels that try to trap the player, since the ability to see all the rooms would allow the player to chart his path to the exit much more easily.

R3 wrote:as it is, when I maximize DOSBox, the resolution isn't all that great.

Have you tried playing around with any of the DOSBox scalers? You can also try SVN builds like ykhwong's that support even more scalers such as xBRZ for example.


thanks for the tip!

only now i was able to download YHKwong's DOSBox.

i used the ADVANCED INTERPOLATION option for the SCALER function.

it does look much smoother when in full-screen mode.

Image

lvcabral
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 86
Joined: March 11th, 2016, 10:34 pm

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby lvcabral » May 2nd, 2016, 8:29 pm

I missed the milestone for last Saturday release of v0.8 but for a good reason. I saw David's post to attempt to support on SDLPoP the Macintosh sprites ( viewtopic.php?f=126&t=3810 ) then I decided to add that option to my implementation. For now I'm only supporting the sprites for the kid, guards (all colors) and sword, I would meet the deadline even with these if was'nt for the sword positions, I had to spend a lot of time to manually adjust the table for those sprites.

Besides that I have a couple of major bugs I decided to fix before the release, and will produce a video with 0.7 and 0.8 enhancements.

A quick preview of this version:
Image

Andrew
Wise Scribe
Wise Scribe
Posts: 313
Joined: July 16th, 2009, 4:39 pm

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby Andrew » May 3rd, 2016, 3:51 pm

lvcabral wrote:I saw David's post to attempt to support on SDLPoP the Macintosh sprites ( viewtopic.php?f=126&t=3810 ) then I decided to add that option to my implementation. For now I'm only supporting the sprites for the kid, guards (all colors) and sword

That's a nice bonus indeed. :) Do you plan to add support for all the Mac graphics in future?

lvcabral
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 86
Joined: March 11th, 2016, 10:34 pm

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby lvcabral » May 4th, 2016, 6:45 am

Andrew wrote:
lvcabral wrote:I saw David's post to attempt to support on SDLPoP the Macintosh sprites ( viewtopic.php?f=126&t=3810 ) then I decided to add that option to my implementation. For now I'm only supporting the sprites for the kid, guards (all colors) and sword

That's a nice bonus indeed. :) Do you plan to add support for all the Mac graphics in future?


Yep, the v0.9 will have the Mac tiles, objects etc.

Andrew
Wise Scribe
Wise Scribe
Posts: 313
Joined: July 16th, 2009, 4:39 pm

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby Andrew » May 4th, 2016, 6:16 pm

lvcabral wrote:Yep, the v0.9 will have the Mac tiles, objects etc.

You've solved all the graphical glitches?

Image

lvcabral
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 86
Joined: March 11th, 2016, 10:34 pm

Re: Prince of Persia port for Roku streaming box

Postby lvcabral » May 4th, 2016, 7:28 pm

Not all of them yet, I'm still working on it.

As I had the HTML5 port by "ultrabolido" as the reference for my implementation, I'm using Phaser Game Engine(http://phaser.io/) - sprite sheets packed with TexturePacker(https://www.codeandweb.com/texturepacker) so I need to replace the white background to a transparent background and for the tiles I'm working on putting together each variation (he did that to not have to implement that part of the code).

BTW I wrote a small .net application to split back those sprite sheets in individual png files for each frame, using the json information.
I will publish this small tool at GitHub.


Return to “Other Remakes and Ports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest