Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Threads about other remakes and ports.

Moderator: English Moderator Team

polipo
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 89
Joined: September 6th, 2012, 8:34 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby polipo » October 8th, 2014, 2:17 pm

Dear,
i still finish some optimization into PoP.net use this preview link for download it

http://we.tl/t4smGkEeEs

polipo
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 89
Joined: September 6th, 2012, 8:34 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby polipo » October 9th, 2014, 11:21 am

A start of a new project.....
I''m plan to start another project from the PoPnet source, it will be a platform game 2d like PoP with new resolution 1280x800 (X2 the original PoP res), the first release will be on Android in "free" payment, next i will think about some payment for gain day-life.
Question: But the PoP will be discontinued ??!? NO, the engine will be the same, i plan to release a free open source pc/linux version and hide the portable versions.
Already the PoPnet is playable on Android, i have tested the Samsung Galaxy tab 2, but i cannot publish for copyright laws: names, graphics taked by J.M. the only solution is.... change it.

The "Prince Of Non" now is only a name and some ideas, for this reason i have maked a new post,
see viewtopic.php?f=69&t=3558

Thanks
Andrea Falappi

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1339
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby David » October 9th, 2014, 1:53 pm

polipo wrote:Dear,
i still finish some optimization into PoP.net use this preview link for download it

http://we.tl/t4smGkEeEs

Could you please make a version that does not require DirectX 11?
MonoGame has a version/option that uses OpenGL instead.
http://community.monogame.net/t/windows ... irectx/459

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby salvadorc17 » October 9th, 2014, 11:28 pm

Question: But the PoP will be discontinued ??!? NO, the engine will be the same, i plan to release a free open source pc/linux version and hide the portable versions.
Already the PoPnet is playable on Android, i have tested the Samsung Galaxy tab 2, but i cannot publish for copyright laws: names, graphics taked by J.M. the only solution is.... change it.

The "Prince Of Non" now is only a name and some ideas, for this reason i have maked a new post,
see viewtopic.php?f=69&t=3558


You have been asked about copyright laws???? becuase for example pop sld open source has not problems with that as far as i know, you want to start a new one also that means this one will not have code optimization and other stuff?

polipo
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 89
Joined: September 6th, 2012, 8:34 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby polipo » October 10th, 2014, 10:45 am

Dear,
Prince Of Persia is copyrighted, i'm not an expert in copy laws but the trademark "Prince Of Persia" is under US copyright and i think all material graphics and sound.
You can pubblish into opensource world for Win and Linux BUT you can't on mobile devices.
Salvador dont worry, the engine will be the same for PoP an PoN all new feature will be on both game.
This is only a preface of starting the PoN, i must complete some missed feature's in PoP, for example some animation like jump and grab ...

My goal is to pubblish on mobile world, PoP net can be done, but PoN can.

Could you please make a version that does not require DirectX 11?
MonoGame has a version/option that uses OpenGL instead.


Initially i have used OpenGL (OpenTK library), after i moved on DirectX
Do you prefer OpenGL ? why ?

PS Make a copy of the project with OpenGL isnt a problem i must change only a reference for the Monogame.dll

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1339
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby David » October 10th, 2014, 12:19 pm

polipo wrote:Do you prefer OpenGL ? why ?

Because I can't run the DirectX version on Windows XP.
It wants to load Direct3D11 even if the game does not use it.
Someone wrote about this here: http://community.monogame.net/t/framewo ... tions/1086
But if that page is right, then OpenGL also has problems.

polipo
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 89
Joined: September 6th, 2012, 8:34 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby polipo » October 13th, 2014, 10:32 am

Yeah confirm all.
I will post today on codeplex the opengl and directX version see
https://princeofpersia.codeplex.com/

polipo
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 89
Joined: September 6th, 2012, 8:34 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby polipo » October 20th, 2014, 1:25 pm

New XML format preview...

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<Level xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-

instance">

<levelName>dungeon_prison</levelName>
<description>bla bla</description>
<index>1</index>

<room number="1">

<Block>
<sprite Type="guard" direction="FlipHorizontally" skill="5" energy="3" color="00FF00">
<tile Type="floor">
</Block>

<Block>
<sprite Type="sword" direction="FlipHorizontally" color="000000"> <!--#000000 default-->
<tile Type="floor">
</Block>

<Block>
<sprite Type="kid" direction="FlipHorizontally">
<tile Type="floor" state="brick">
</Block>

<Block>
<tile Type="door" state="opened" switchButton="8">
</Block>


...

<links down="2" up="0" right="0" left="5"/>
</room>




</Level>

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby salvadorc17 » October 21st, 2014, 12:18 am

You are merging all rooms in the same level???

Also how do you deserialize this, the subitems from the element?

<sprite Type="guard" direction="FlipHorizontally" skill="5" energy="3" color="00FF00">

polipo
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 89
Joined: September 6th, 2012, 8:34 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby polipo » October 21st, 2014, 9:14 am

Yes,
each level contains all room structure,
and the sprite and the other will have on same xml element some parameter.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby salvadorc17 » October 28th, 2014, 8:50 pm

Some new fixes - Source updated


You have any news about this???

polipo
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 89
Joined: September 6th, 2012, 8:34 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby polipo » October 29th, 2014, 9:47 am

See on my blog

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby salvadorc17 » October 31st, 2014, 11:17 pm

You have uploaded the source code with this new file format??

<room number="1">

<Block>
<sprite Type="guard" direction="FlipHorizontally" skill="5" energy="3" color="00FF00">
<tile Type="floor">
</Block>

...

<links down="2" up="0" right="0" left="5"/>
</room>


Also i want to suggest you add a leveltype property, that can be readed before loads level, to allow the program use different tileset for each level separately, (all tileset must be attached to the content)..

polipo
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 89
Joined: September 6th, 2012, 8:34 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby polipo » November 4th, 2014, 11:12 am

Dear.
i think to upload the refreshed project today or tomorrow, (see on blog for latest news)
For the new file format, include the "levelType" require to include all tileset or spriteset,
it will be too big for the mobile devices like a phone, but i can implement for custumizations user.

The problem is the xna/monogame compress format, all asset are converted into "XNB" file,
you can use for avoid to recompile the Content this usefull program:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/xnbbuilder/

Bye

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Postby salvadorc17 » November 5th, 2014, 2:08 am

The problem is the xna/monogame compress format, all asset are converted into "XNB" file,
you can use for avoid to recompile the Content this usefull program:


I think youre missing something, users should be able to use at least 2 tileset types, that means at least it need to be those loaded, im not talking about custom, only defaults: dungeon and palace for pop 1...

Anyway good work for updating...


Return to “Other Remakes and Ports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests