Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Threads about other remakes and ports.

Moderator: English Moderator Team

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3169
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by Norbert » September 17th, 2014, 11:10 am

polipo wrote:Question: Why you and other prince fan don't join into the PoP.net project ?
The scope of the project is made a generic engine for platform 2d game like PoP
My guess: we're a very small community, not everyone has the required skills and most people are already working on various projects.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 527
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by salvadorc17 » September 17th, 2014, 9:39 pm

Dear,
i don't uderstand you have used the interlocked, the monogame framework don't need the sync of thread or i'm wrong?

it means? for debug usually are function for write a log or event for trace errors, in your code i dont see it.
I call debug code, but is for testing only and by now im not using monogame, im using standalone version for personal test.
Question: Why you and other prince fan don't join into the PoP.net project ?
The scope of the project is made a generic engine for platform 2d game like PoP
What i can really do for the project is really few, i just like to test and enjoy with your good work...

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3169
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by Norbert » September 18th, 2014, 6:08 pm

I was trying to find a link to the source code but at...
https://princeofpersia.codeplex.com/Sou ... rol/latest
...I only see a README.md file?

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1511
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by David » September 19th, 2014, 10:08 am

It seems so.
You can get older versions (commits) of the source at: History -> click a number -> Files. (35951 is the current empty, 35676 is not empty.)
Also, the CodePlex site is currently very slow for me. (Loading a page takes 20-30 seconds.)

polipo
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 89
Joined: September 6th, 2012, 8:34 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by polipo » September 19th, 2014, 10:18 am

Dear,
i will refresh the project on codeplex as soon, stay tuned.

Question : Have someone a diagram of kid movement and collision ?

For example:

[ACTION = RUN] -> [COLLISION = WALL] -> [ACTION = BUMP] -> [ACTION = STAND]

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 527
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by salvadorc17 » September 19th, 2014, 9:36 pm

What do you mean with diagram??? that are not explained in the source code where you get the sprites??? or is not represented in the kid sequence???

polipo
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 89
Joined: September 6th, 2012, 8:34 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by polipo » September 23rd, 2014, 8:58 am

Yes, the source code where i take the suggestion is for MacII in assembler, i don't know mac assembler and i will not study.
PoP.net use the xyz_sequences.xml but some reaction i cant put into the sequence file, for example:
When the kid is onFrontOf wall -> RIGHT + SHIFT control -> kid can step forward if not toucing it or Bounced back if kid is touching it.

Some Kid reactions i will put into the code (i don't like it) but now it's the only solution.

For view some Kid reactions i must see in action the original game in action, it's a bore a flow chart can be more usefull and funny..

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1511
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by David » September 23rd, 2014, 10:24 am

polipo wrote:i don't know mac assembler and i will not study.
You can look into the source of my conversion instead.
polipo wrote:Some Kid reactions i will put into the code (i don't like it) but now it's the only solution.
This is how the original game does it.
Search for "seqtbl_offset_char" in the conversion.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 527
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by salvadorc17 » September 27th, 2014, 12:23 am

What do you say about create custom tiles based from prince 2 and import it to this prince version???

polipo
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 89
Joined: September 6th, 2012, 8:34 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by polipo » October 2nd, 2014, 9:03 am

if the tiles of pop2 are with the same dimension of pop nothing to do into source code, else
some changes will be done into source code....

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 527
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by salvadorc17 » October 3rd, 2014, 11:24 pm

Yes im modifying it to have same direction and sieze from tiles of your pop-net, but heres come my new question, what code should be implemented to allow levels of diferent tileset, i mean different from the original dungeon, becuase the only way i can figure how to do it, is creating a copy of the floor that uses alternate tile graphics...

polipo
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 89
Joined: September 6th, 2012, 8:34 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by polipo » October 6th, 2014, 11:19 am

see on
https://princeofpersia.codeplex.com/discussions
theres some post about popnet customization.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 527
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by salvadorc17 » October 7th, 2014, 2:43 am

I have readed those, are useful, but i think you dont understand me, prince use 2 default tileset: dungeon firts levels and palace for the latest, that means no changes need to be done to acess different tileset,.

I mean how to customize the allow for allow levels have a specific tileset from multiples at times, life for example create a tileset property for the level class. And reading for that property game will decide which tileset need to be draw, "this only works in old pop net level structure", but how to does it in "apoplexy level structure"...

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3169
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by Norbert » October 7th, 2014, 2:53 pm

salvadorc17, that is not part of the levels. It is part of the PRINCE.EXE file.

For XML, you would use a separate prince.xml file with, for example:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<hacks changes="2">
   <hack key="environment level 2" value="1" />
   <hack key="starting hit points" value="4" />
</hacks>
Partially related posts:
viewtopic.php?p=15121#p15121
viewtopic.php?p=15194#p15194

However, it may be wise to not work on this right now, but finish all the other code first before looking into this.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 527
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Prince Of Persia.net written in C#

Post by salvadorc17 » October 8th, 2014, 12:29 am

However, it may be wise to not work on this right now, but finish all the other code first before looking into this.
Finish all other code?? dont know if polipo will do it, i just want to do some test for the game currently have using the pop2 tileset...

Post Reply