Midi music for Prince v1.3

Discuss PoP1 for DOS here.

Moderator: English Moderator Team

User avatar
kj-5349
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 112
Joined: January 26th, 2010, 11:43 am

Midi music for Prince v1.3

Postby kj-5349 » January 24th, 2017, 12:22 pm

Initially thought of releasing this only upon completing my mod, but felt of sharing this anyway instead. Took the weekend to try out various songs before settling on this set of VGMs.
NOTE: This does not work well with Soundblaster in dosbox as the sounds will be warped and distorted. Pls do not use it in v1.0.

Place this in your PoP v1.3 and in Setup, set Music Synthesizer to Roland. Not adjusting it would mean that Soundblaster would be playing and may be harmful to the ears instead :D
EDIT: Pls also use Dosbox as the sound might not work properly in modern OS.

Download: Link or mirror in attachment.

By changing many midis to type 0, only then could all these work properly.
Many tunes are mostly from NES games that I have enjoyed. I didn't compose them but they were found from the Internet...
If you like to know about the song details it can be discussed here as there is a lot to list down if I did it myself ;)
Attachments
Roland music for prince v1.3.zip
(25.72 KiB) Downloaded 9 times
Last edited by kj-5349 on January 24th, 2017, 1:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi music for Prince v1.3

Postby Norbert » January 24th, 2017, 12:54 pm

It's not working for me.
I started with PoP1 1.3, overwrote the 2 DAT files with yours, used SETUP.EXE to change to Roland (tried just Music on Roland, then both Sound and Music on Roland).
It does load longer, but I hear no music.

User avatar
kj-5349
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 112
Joined: January 26th, 2010, 11:43 am

Re: Midi music for Prince v1.3

Postby kj-5349 » January 24th, 2017, 1:00 pm

Whoops. I forgot, it needs to be also played in dosbox...

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi music for Prince v1.3

Postby Norbert » January 24th, 2017, 1:26 pm

kj-5349 wrote:Whoops. I forgot, it needs to be also played in dosbox...


Everything I wrote in my previous post was about me testing it in DOSBox.
It simply does not work for me.
DOSBox version 0.74.

User avatar
kj-5349
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 112
Joined: January 26th, 2010, 11:43 am

Re: Midi music for Prince v1.3

Postby kj-5349 » January 24th, 2017, 1:42 pm

Perhaps:-
Is the original music working 1st if set to Roland
Then after replacing them with the new DAT files, are they working?
Not sure if some tweaking is needed in dosbox options - unless only new DAT files don't work but the original files can work.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi music for Prince v1.3

Postby Norbert » January 24th, 2017, 2:44 pm

I remember now.
DOSBox does not work with MIDI for me unless I use ykhwong's version of DOSBox.
More info here and here.
Other people also have issues with the regular DOSBox's MIDI support.

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1327
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Midi music for Prince v1.3

Postby David » January 28th, 2017, 5:06 pm

Norbert wrote:I remember now.
DOSBox does not work with MIDI for me unless I use ykhwong's version of DOSBox.
More info here and here.
Other people also have issues with the regular DOSBox's MIDI support.

Specifically, it's the Roland MT-32, not just "MIDI".

Norbert wrote:I started with PoP1 1.3, overwrote the 2 DAT files with yours, used SETUP.EXE to change to Roland (tried just Music on Roland, then both Sound and Music on Roland).
It does load longer, but I hear no music.

For me, it works with the official DOSBox as well, it just sounds different.

User avatar
kj-5349
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 112
Joined: January 26th, 2010, 11:43 am

Re: Midi music for Prince v1.3

Postby kj-5349 » February 10th, 2017, 12:09 pm

Hi Norbert, David,

I realised I was performing all this in my old 32-bit Windows XP.
I was wondering if the difference could be due to the newer 64-bit and later Windows versions.
Also for Windows, there is a default or built-in MIDI stuff at least in my computer (win32 in dosbox?). I was testing various songs without thinking of this issue.
Could non-Windows platforms lack the tools for MIDI playback unlike already provided in Windows and require additional MIDI players/codecs/etc installed?

Btw, I didn't have the default files to enable MT-32. So I used ykhwong's dosbox and added the 2 rom files in his folder. Followed the useful guides below
Norbert wrote:More info here and here

His interface also seems easier to adjust around, and I now noticed the difference of music with MT-32 vs the default win32 music.

Unrelated - I'm nearly finished with my mod and a few songs were changed or swapped around. The attachment in this topic is considered a crude compilation but it's like a draft version for people to test out and also apply to their regular PoP1 games for some atmosphere change...


Return to “Prince of Persia 1 for DOS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests