Some funny sounds

Discuss PoP1 for DOS here.

Moderator: English Moderator Team

Andrew
Wise Scribe
Wise Scribe
Posts: 313
Joined: July 16th, 2009, 4:39 pm

Re: Some funny sounds

Postby Andrew » December 19th, 2015, 6:19 pm

I didn't bother installing MUNT system-wide. I prefer using it integrated into various apps.

David wrote:I have to set: mididevice=mt32 in dosbox.conf.
Now it works!

I didn't even think to mention that because I thought that would've been the first thing you'd have done. :) Anyway, what do you think of the (close to) actual MT-32 sounds now?

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1247
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Some funny sounds

Postby David » January 9th, 2016, 11:51 am

Andrew wrote:I didn't even think to mention that because I thought that would've been the first thing you'd have done.

(mididevice=mt32 in dosbox.conf)
I tried that once (before knew that I need ROMs), but then it didn't change anything.
So I thought that maybe it means to use a real MT-32, which I don't have.

Now I see it writes an error message into the log in that case, but it gets lost among all the other messages.

Code: Select all

MT32: Control ROM file not found
MIDI:Can't open device:mt32 with config:.


Andrew wrote:The official version's devs for some puzzling reason are extremely reluctant to integrate patches contributed by the community for better hardware compatibility.

They mention why didn't they include proper MT-32 emulation, here: http://sourceforge.net/blog/potm-201301/

Andrew
Wise Scribe
Wise Scribe
Posts: 313
Joined: July 16th, 2009, 4:39 pm

Re: Some funny sounds

Postby Andrew » January 9th, 2016, 4:46 pm

David wrote:(mididevice=mt32 in dosbox.conf)
I tried that once (before knew that I need ROMs), but then it didn't change anything.
So I thought that maybe it means to use a real MT-32, which I don't have.

Ah, so you made the change when you didn't have the ROMs, then didn't once you got them. Oh well, not a big deal since we all sometimes miss things that seem obvious in hindsight. At least we're now able to enjoy the sounds as they were intended instead of wondering why the game sounds so funny in MT-32 mode. :)

David wrote:They mention why didn't they include proper MT-32 emulation, here: http://sourceforge.net/blog/potm-201301/

Having followed the drama somewhat over the years on Vogons, that interview is hardly the whole story. For example, if they were really so afraid of legal challenges from Roland to bundling the ROMs, that in no way explains why they refuse to at least add the code and leave the business of locating the ROMs to users. SCUMMVM as mentioned by them in the interview does have the code integrated but of course doesn't bundle the ROMs, and they've not faced any legal challenges yet because they're not distributing anything illegal. Moreover MT-32 support is not the only improvement the unofficial DOSBox builds have, so I'd have to say there are probably ego clashes and related issues at work here. Unfortunate, but at least we have those forks to help us out thanks to the open source nature of the project.

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1247
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Some funny sounds

Postby David » February 13th, 2016, 5:41 pm

doppelganger wrote:Setting sounds to Roland in 1.3 is funny. You know, the the trumpet for the prince's footsteps, and so on?

These mixed-up sounds remind me of an episode of Garfield and Friends, titled Sound Judgment.


Return to “Prince of Persia 1 for DOS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest