Game won't install - W7 64-bit

Moderator: English Moderator Team

vree
Scholar Scribe
Scholar Scribe
Posts: 3
Joined: July 31st, 2013, 11:16 pm

Game won't install - W7 64-bit

Postby vree » July 31st, 2013, 11:19 pm

So got the game on actually discs.
Also tried 2 download versions.

But all with the same result.

The Setup file just doesn't run or goes into an endless loop.
It goes to 100% preparing install shield. But then nothing shows up....
What gives????

is there a way to install without using the setup.exe???

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Game won't install - W7 64-bit

Postby Norbert » August 1st, 2013, 1:29 pm

Did you try running it in "Windows 98/Me" compatibility mode?
Right click on the .EXE file and use the Compatibility tab of its properties window.
I think you'll need to check "Run this program as an administrator."

If this doesn't work, you could try running it with another Windows version in VirtualBox (or even create a 32-bit partition).

Or, run the game under Wine. (Make sure you enable Wine's virtual desktop.)
This is actually how I run the game under GNU/Linux.

vree
Scholar Scribe
Scholar Scribe
Posts: 3
Joined: July 31st, 2013, 11:16 pm

Re: Game won't install - W7 64-bit

Postby vree » August 1st, 2013, 2:14 pm

It works fine on Windows 7 32 bit. But that pc of mine can't run it smoothly.
But On my Windows 64 bit pc it just stops working instantly.

Tried the compatibility mode but didn't help.
So the only way to maybe get it to work is virtualbox or wine...

No exactly the most ideal solution :S

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Game won't install - W7 64-bit

Postby Norbert » August 1st, 2013, 2:29 pm

Alternatively, you could create a 32-bit partition and make your PC a dual boot machine, so you can boot into both Windows 7 64-bit and, for example, Windows XP 32-bit.

A more difficult and less reliable option would be to install and boot another Windows version on/from an external USB hard disk.
Your computer (BIOS) would need to support booting from USB. Only mentioning this because it's another option, not because I think it would be advisable.

vree
Scholar Scribe
Scholar Scribe
Posts: 3
Joined: July 31st, 2013, 11:16 pm

Re: Game won't install - W7 64-bit

Postby vree » August 1st, 2013, 2:55 pm

Yea that sounds like an idea.
I understand the whole concept.
But do you happen to have a noob friendly guide for this.
Wouldn't like the mess up something like this :S

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Game won't install - W7 64-bit

Postby Norbert » August 1st, 2013, 3:16 pm

Dual booting, you mean?

1. First you backup your important data, just in case you inadvertently run into problems.
2. Then you repartition your hard disk, to free up space where XP 32-bit (or whatever) will live.
Write down how large the partitions are, make sure they are not exactly the same size.
3. Finally, you install XP 32-bit.
Run the Custom installation, and make sure you pick the hard disk that has the size you allocated for XP 32-bit.

If you have any doubts about any of it, ask a buddy/computer expert in your neighborhood to help you out.

User avatar
Coco
Sheikh
Sheikh
Posts: 42
Joined: February 1st, 2013, 3:58 pm

Re: Game won't install - W7 64-bit

Postby Coco » March 23rd, 2014, 5:10 pm

[Sorry, URL removed. See this. --Norbert]

Download it here. It's for 64bit Windows.

Instructions:

After download extract files. Then, inside you'll find bunch of .rar files. SELECT ALL OF THEM, then extract them, not just the first one.

OPTION 2:
[Sorry, URL removed. See this. --Norbert]
link for different package, no game music or cinematics, but I think library crash is not present in it.

sritsseo
Scholar Scribe
Scholar Scribe
Posts: 1
Joined: October 4th, 2014, 12:41 pm

Re: Game won't install - W7 64-bit

Postby sritsseo » October 4th, 2014, 12:50 pm

Hi,For me it's 32 bit window :) Please give any suggestion whether game install or not :) I hope you will send.Thanks Advance :)

User avatar
Coco
Sheikh
Sheikh
Posts: 42
Joined: February 1st, 2013, 3:58 pm

Re: Game won't install - W7 64-bit

Postby Coco » December 1st, 2014, 11:08 am

No idea.I'm still struggling with this game. Find Pop3dDutch crack. It's the only thing that fixes the library bug (which makes the game unplayable). You'll should be able to play a game, but it will lag a lot.

RaymanForever2007
Sheikh
Sheikh
Posts: 35
Joined: March 26th, 2016, 8:32 am

Re: Game won't install - W7 64-bit

Postby RaymanForever2007 » April 11th, 2016, 3:01 am

vree wrote:So got the game on actually discs.
Also tried 2 download versions.

But all with the same result.

The Setup file just doesn't run or goes into an endless loop.
It goes to 100% preparing install shield. But then nothing shows up....
What gives????

is there a way to install without using the setup.exe???


In my case, it's not W7 but W10 Build 1511plus latest updates as of 9 Apr. 2016, the PoP 3D can be installed without any problem using CD1 only for CD2 is for starting the game.
Just for the information for forum people having the problem in W7.


Return to “Prince of Persia 3D”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest