How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Discuss other PoP1 related things here.

Moderator: English Moderator Team

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1327
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby David » July 20th, 2014, 9:46 am

I had a hard time finding the few working emulators, so I post the results here.

First, you need the game itself: http://doperoms.com/roms/turbografx_16_ ... 9.rar.html (32 MB)
You may also need a CD BIOS: http://emu-russia.net/en/files/bios/tgcd/

Then you need an emulator.
I tried the emulators from these pages:
http://www.zophar.net/tg16.html
http://www.zophar.net/multiem.html (Only those that mention TurboGrafx)

Those I could get to work are:
Hu6280 -- http://www.zophar.net/tg16/hu6280.html
You have to press F11 (the menu does not work) and select the ISO file.
The problem is that it is too fast.
Mednafen -- http://www.zophar.net/multiem/mednafen.html
You need to copy the file Super CD-ROM2 System V3.00 (J).pce (from the bios package) into the emulator's folder as syscard3.pce.
Then, pass the path to the CUE file in the command line.

Those that don't work:
* DeePCE -- Does not support CD games.
* DPCE -- Does not support CD games.
* TG16 EMU -- Does not support CD games.
* Hu-Go! -- Crashes when I select the ISO. (Segmentation Fault)
* Magic Engine -- Supports real CDs only.
* Ootake -- Copy the bios as "SYSCARD.pce".
Create a folder in the "install" folder named the same as the CUE file (without extension), and copy all game files there.
The BIOS starts, but it says "LOAD ERROR!" when I press enter.
* Project PC2E -- Supports real CDs only. It seems that Ootake is based on this.
* PCejin -- Copy the bios as "pce.cdbios".
Tries to open some file called "Prince of Persia (U).bin".
If I create an empty file with that name, then it says "WARN: 0 fewer than pregap (150) sectors in track 2".
* PicchioEngine -- Does not support CD games.
* TGEmu -- Does not support CD games.
* Turbo Engine -- Shows an error: "Error while loading CDROM game. If you are using a physical CD drive, make sure there is a CD in it."
If I delete all tracks from the CUE except the second: it shows an error message about the "File Cabinet", and then shows black screen.
* VPCE -- Does not support CD games.
* SmartGear -- Does not support CD games.
* YAME -- Does not support CD games.
* BizHawk -- I didn't try this one yet.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby Norbert » October 2nd, 2016, 4:49 pm

Apparently this is possible with the TurboGrafx-16 version:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1UDlBbVmJN4&t=92
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EIP41ZPkmcs&t=703

Okay... and this is not:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1UDlBbVmJN4&t=98

Plus at least one room that's not in the original:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1UDlBbVmJN4&t=129
(Maybe this was mentioned before somewhere on the forum.)

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1327
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby David » October 8th, 2016, 12:48 pm

Norbert wrote:Apparently this is possible with the TurboGrafx-16 version:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1UDlBbVmJN4&t=92
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EIP41ZPkmcs&t=703

Grabbing a ledge after falling too much... :shock:

Norbert wrote:Okay... and this is not:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1UDlBbVmJN4&t=98

No standing jump over 3 tiles? :?

Norbert wrote:Plus at least one room that's not in the original:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1UDlBbVmJN4&t=129
(Maybe this was mentioned before somewhere on the forum.)

What, so this legendary place really exists? :)

It's on one of the covers, mentioned here: viewtopic.php?p=17874#p17874
Here is the cover: http://www.mobygames.com/game/prince-of ... Id,108788/

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1327
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby David » October 8th, 2016, 3:55 pm

David wrote:Hu6280 -- http://www.zophar.net/tg16/hu6280.html
You have to press F11 (the menu does not work) and select the ISO file.
The problem is that it is too fast.

In the INI file, set LIMIT=ON. That will change the speed to normal.
I wonder why isn't this the default.

David wrote:What, so this legendary place really exists? :)

And it does...
It's really on level 3 as the screenshot on the cover says.
(Say, is this the only version of PoP1 that continuously shows the level number?)
Attachments
level3-map.png
Map of level 3.

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1327
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby David » October 9th, 2016, 10:01 am

Norbert wrote:Apparently this is possible with the TurboGrafx-16 version:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1UDlBbVmJN4&t=92

I found out that it was mentioned here: viewtopic.php?p=11007#p11007
_Zaphod_ wrote:But it's fun to abuse the ledge grab bug and speedrun level 8. :)

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby Norbert » November 2nd, 2016, 10:37 pm

David wrote:
Norbert wrote:Apparently this is possible with the TurboGrafx-16 version:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1UDlBbVmJN4&t=92
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EIP41ZPkmcs&t=703

Grabbing a ledge after falling too much... :shock:


Yeah. Other versions have similar strange things. For instance the Sega Genesis version:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3awmTtEaE2U&t=237
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3awmTtEaE2U&t=60 (both the jump and the patient guard)
I'm sure there are many more.

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1327
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby David » January 21st, 2017, 7:18 pm

It looks like the two extra rooms of level 3 also exist in the FM Towns version: https://youtu.be/YRm65857dmI?t=378

_Zaphod_
Beylerbey
Beylerbey
Posts: 55
Joined: January 13th, 2006, 12:01 am
Location: USA

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby _Zaphod_ » January 22nd, 2017, 12:22 am

that room is a trap. there is no way to collect that life extender potion and escape. even if you manage to leave the first loose tile, you cannot jump off of it in time to grab the ledge and climb back out. beleive me, i tried.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby Norbert » January 22nd, 2017, 12:56 am

_Zaphod_ wrote:that room is a trap. there is no way to collect that life extender potion and escape. even if you manage to leave the first loose tile, you cannot jump off of it in time to grab the ledge and climb back out.


You can use the first part of this:


_Zaphod_
Beylerbey
Beylerbey
Posts: 55
Joined: January 13th, 2006, 12:01 am
Location: USA

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby _Zaphod_ » January 22nd, 2017, 1:03 am

have you actually tried it on the tg-16 version?

come back with a video of it there as proof.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby Norbert » January 22nd, 2017, 1:28 am

_Zaphod_ wrote:have you actually tried it on the tg-16 version?


No, my mind was in DOS mode. :P
I just tested with the FM Towns.
Indeed, the trick does not work there.

_Zaphod_
Beylerbey
Beylerbey
Posts: 55
Joined: January 13th, 2006, 12:01 am
Location: USA

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby _Zaphod_ » January 22nd, 2017, 1:30 am

as i said. it's a trap. and it also shows an inaccuracy of the conversion. platforms fall too soon.

believe me i tried that first thing. standing jump onto the tile, jump straight up. only running onto the tile and jumping works. but because of the wall in the way, you can't clear both tiles when you jump down.

quite devious.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby Norbert » January 22nd, 2017, 1:42 am

_Zaphod_ wrote:only running onto the tile and jumping works. but because of the wall in the way, you can't clear both tiles when you jump down


I am actually able to keep both loose tiles in place; reach the life potion without any loose tiles falling down.
I just tested this, not making it up. ;)
After you climb down and are behind the pillar, just jump right.
You will miss the wall and land to the right of both loose tiles.
But running onto the loose tiles and then trying to climb up doesn't work, unfortunately.
At least, I've tried it several times and it doesn't for me.

_Zaphod_
Beylerbey
Beylerbey
Posts: 55
Joined: January 13th, 2006, 12:01 am
Location: USA

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby _Zaphod_ » January 22nd, 2017, 2:26 am

yeah. those tiles fall extra fast it seems.

does it work elsewhere? it's been a while since i was able to get it running.

i guess i can hook up my real console.

_Zaphod_
Beylerbey
Beylerbey
Posts: 55
Joined: January 13th, 2006, 12:01 am
Location: USA

Re: How to run the TurboGrafx-16 / PC Engine version

Postby _Zaphod_ » January 22nd, 2017, 3:47 am

tried. you hit wall in tg-16 version.

on fm towns try running all the way into the wall before you jump up. it will probably bring you to an instant stop.


Return to “Prince of Persia 1 - Other”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest