How to use the sound blaster ?

Questions like: "I can't find the sword" should go here.

Moderator: English Moderator Team

Alex156
Scholar Scribe
Scholar Scribe
Posts: 2
Joined: April 1st, 2010, 10:24 am

How to use the sound blaster ?

Postby Alex156 » April 1st, 2010, 10:28 am

Hey,

I'm quite new trying to replay this awesome game :-)

I've just downloaded POP 1.4, but i can't figure out how to use the sound blaster feature instead of the PC Speaker: when i was a kid, i used to play on my step brother's computer and as he was an informatician he managed at the time to use his soundblaster. The fact is, i don't know anything about commands and DOS , but i can't bear those pc speaker sounds! It kills the fun imo..

Thanks in advance for helping me...

Regards,

- Alex.

Andrew
Wise Scribe
Wise Scribe
Posts: 313
Joined: July 16th, 2009, 4:39 pm

Re: How to use the sound blaster ?

Postby Andrew » April 1st, 2010, 8:05 pm

Since you're most probably not playing under real-mode DOS anymore but under Windows, you cannot get SoundBlaster sound directly. Follow these instructions:

1) Create the following directory structure:

C:\Dos
|__ C:\Dos\Prince1
|__ C:\Dos\Prince2

where of course the two dirs. have the game files.

2) Install DOSBox.

3) Click on Start > Programs > Configuration > Edit Configuration.

4) At the end of the file in the [autoexec] section, copy-paste the following:

Code: Select all

mount c C:\Dos
c:
cls

5) Run DOSBox and you'll see a C:\ command prompt. If you want, you can press Alt+Enter to go fullscreen.

6) The following commands will launch PoP1:

cd Prince1
prince

7) Similarly for PoP2:

cd Prince2
prince

It's easy enough. Also, I personally don't use GUI frontends, but if you want, there are quite a few available for DOSBox that enable you to make profiles for every game, so that running a game is then as easy as launching the frontend and selecting from a menu. Browse the DOSBox download page for more.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask! Image

Alex156
Scholar Scribe
Scholar Scribe
Posts: 2
Joined: April 1st, 2010, 10:24 am

Re: How to use the sound blaster ?

Postby Alex156 » April 2nd, 2010, 2:16 pm

Ah yeah , got it! !!

Thanks a lot for your precise answer :-)

Well, now i know the utility of DOSBox, i had it before but never understood why to use it instead of a normal command prompt... :) thanks again!!

Best regards,

- Alex.


Return to “Simple Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest