Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Open-source port of PoP that runs natively on Windows, Linux, etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 5743
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm

Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Post by Norbert »

A simple document for DOS mod authors that explains how to add SDLPoP support: 2017-03-05_Adding_SDLPoP.pdf (ODT)
salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 553
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Post by salvadorc17 »

Norbert wrote:A simple document for DOS mod authors that explains how to add SDLPoP support: 2017-03-05_Adding_SDLPoP.pdf (ODT)
Should SdlPOP not try to convert or use DOS mods by itself, without user need to do any manual changes..
User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 5743
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm

Re: Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Post by Norbert »

salvadorc17 wrote:Should SdlPOP not try to convert or use DOS mods by itself, without user need to do any manual changes..
In theory, diffpop could be modified and improved to optionally generate an SDLPoP.ini file.
Maybe one day.
Falcury
Calif
Calif
Posts: 565
Joined: June 25th, 2009, 10:01 pm

Re: Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Post by Falcury »

It would be nice to have of course... Would be a challenge to implement, I expect.
Yeah, maybe one day :)
User avatar
VelCheran
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 127
Joined: May 28th, 2020, 7:26 pm

Re: Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Post by VelCheran »

Hello there,

I'm currently converting a mod to SDLPoP (using the documentation) and I'm stuck at some point: I can't find in SDLPoP.ini where I can set the guards details (strike prob., block prob., etc). Is it possible? Or will I have to cry my eyes out? :cry:
User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 5743
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm

Re: Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Post by Norbert »

VelCheran wrote: May 24th, 2021, 4:46 pmI can't find in SDLPoP.ini where I can set the guards details (strike prob., block prob., etc).
Based on this, I'm guessing it's not yet possible via SDLPoP.ini (or maybe with e.g. strikeprob[3] = ?).
It should be possible to manually modify either the top of seg002.c or near the end of data.h.
But then you'd have to recompile SDLPoP yourself, for the changes to take effect.
User avatar
atrueprincefanfrom18
Site Shah
Site Shah
Posts: 1782
Joined: January 21st, 2020, 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Post by atrueprincefanfrom18 »

Wait, so SDLPoP doesn't pickup some changes? I think it picks up all of the changes right?
Love to create new MODS :)

My complete list of mods until now!

My channel. Do consider subscribing it! :)
User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 5743
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm

Re: Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Post by Norbert »

atrueprincefanfrom18 wrote: May 24th, 2021, 5:33 pmI think it picks up all of the changes right?
SDLPoP does pick up on these guard changes, but VelCheran is converting a mod to SDLPoP.
David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2846
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Post by David »

Norbert wrote: May 24th, 2021, 5:16 pm Based on this, I'm guessing it's not yet possible via SDLPoP.ini (or maybe with e.g. strikeprob[3] = ?).
That is correct, currently you cannot set guard skill data in SDLPoP.ini.
SDLPoP can only read it out from PRINCE.EXE.

Should I add support for setting them in the ini?
User avatar
VelCheran
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 127
Joined: May 28th, 2020, 7:26 pm

Re: Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Post by VelCheran »

That would be awesome :)
David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2846
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Post by David »

David wrote: May 29th, 2021, 7:59 pm That is correct, currently you cannot set guard skill data in SDLPoP.ini.
SDLPoP can only read it out from PRINCE.EXE.

Should I add support for setting them in the ini?
Done: https://github.com/NagyD/SDLPoP/commit/ ... 5deafcb190
I also added the default level and skill settings in separate files: https://github.com/NagyD/SDLPoP/commit/ ... d39d93c56e
User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 5743
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm

Re: Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Post by Norbert »

Another useful improvement.
User avatar
VelCheran
Vizier
Vizier
Posts: 127
Joined: May 28th, 2020, 7:26 pm

Re: Adding SDLPoP Support to Your DOS Mod

Post by VelCheran »

David wrote: June 12th, 2021, 10:09 am
David wrote: May 29th, 2021, 7:59 pm That is correct, currently you cannot set guard skill data in SDLPoP.ini.
SDLPoP can only read it out from PRINCE.EXE.

Should I add support for setting them in the ini?
Done: https://github.com/NagyD/SDLPoP/commit/ ... 5deafcb190
I also added the default level and skill settings in separate files: https://github.com/NagyD/SDLPoP/commit/ ... d39d93c56e
Oh, I didn't see your reply, thanks! :)
Post Reply