How to skip 'main menu screen' of SNES PoP1

Discuss PoP1 for SNES here.

Moderator: English Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
starwindz
Sultan
Sultan
Posts: 133
Joined: March 8th, 2009, 4:48 pm

How to skip 'main menu screen' of SNES PoP1

Post by starwindz » March 24th, 2017, 1:18 am

I would like to skip 'main menu screen' using hex-edit in order to start the game quickly. Is there anyone who know the information. I have searched related topics but I could not find it.
Attachments
tsnap004.PNG

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3169
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to skip 'main menu screen' of SNES PoP1

Post by Norbert » March 24th, 2017, 2:07 am

starwindz wrote:I would like to skip 'main menu screen' using hex-edit in order to start the game quickly.
This might be helpful:
viewtopic.php?p=17854#p17854

By the way, this forum board "New Levels and Mods For SNES" aims to allow mod authors to post their new levels and mods.
There is a general "Prince of Persia 1 for SNES" forum board for discussions about PoP1 for SNES.
And there's also a "Other Tools & Hex Editing" forum board.

User avatar
starwindz
Sultan
Sultan
Posts: 133
Joined: March 8th, 2009, 4:48 pm

Re: How to skip 'main menu screen' of SNES PoP1

Post by starwindz » March 24th, 2017, 6:15 am

Norbert wrote:
starwindz wrote:I would like to skip 'main menu screen' using hex-edit in order to start the game quickly.
This might be helpful:
viewtopic.php?p=17854#p17854

By the way, this forum board "New Levels and Mods For SNES" aims to allow mod authors to post their new levels and mods.
There is a general "Prince of Persia 1 for SNES" forum board for discussions about PoP1 for SNES.
And there's also a "Other Tools & Hex Editing" forum board.
You are right. Could you please delete this post and following post? I will make posts to the proper forum board. Thank you.
viewtopic.php?f=116&t=4014

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1511
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: How to skip 'main menu screen' of SNES PoP1

Post by David » March 25th, 2017, 11:12 am

Moved topic.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 527
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: How to skip 'main menu screen' of SNES PoP1

Post by salvadorc17 » March 28th, 2017, 9:22 pm

Will be more inmportant to know how to start at desired level, to do a quick test option in snes editors..

User avatar
spartacus735
Sultan
Sultan
Posts: 165
Joined: November 20th, 2011, 12:41 pm
Location: France

Re: How to skip 'main menu screen' of SNES PoP1

Post by spartacus735 » March 30th, 2017, 10:59 am

salvadorc17 wrote:Will be more inmportant to know how to start at desired level, to do a quick test option in snes editors..
It can be done with Pr1sneslevEd or in game with the password SPECIAL ( jap ) and SPCCMD! ( US , EUR ) go check the topic about that.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> http://www.youtube.com/user/spartacus735 <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< the channel of prince of persia snes mod

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3169
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to skip 'main menu screen' of SNES PoP1

Post by Norbert » March 30th, 2017, 11:32 am

spartacus735 wrote:
salvadorc17 wrote:Will be more inmportant to know how to start at desired level, to do a quick test option in snes editors..
It can be done with Pr1sneslevEd or in game with the password SPECIAL ( jap ) and SPCCMD! ( US , EUR ) go check the topic about that.
What Salvador means is easily launching into specific levels for playtesting.
While Pr1SnesLevEd can modify the starting level (File->Hacks...), it has no option to launch the active ROM in any way.
Related: in January 2015, I wrote about Pr1SnesLevEd: "It would be nice if playtesting were easier."

You are right that those passwords enable cheats and can be used (via an in-game cheat menu) to jump to specific levels.
But in my opinion that's still quite cumbersome; lots of work just to reach specific levels.
salvadorc17 wrote:Will be more inmportant to know how to start at desired level, to do a quick test option in snes editors..
That's exactly what the hex changes I linked to do.
The apoplexy level editor already uses it to launch straight into specific SNES levels for playtesting.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 527
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: How to skip 'main menu screen' of SNES PoP1

Post by salvadorc17 » March 31st, 2017, 9:34 pm

spartacus735 wrote: It can be done with Pr1sneslevEd or in game with the password SPECIAL ( jap ) and SPCCMD! ( US , EUR ) go check the topic about that.
That is hard to use, but is not like testing with apoplexy to start at certain level, that is more accurate way to do it..

Post Reply