Change the sprite of prince of persia

Discuss PoP1 for SNES here.

Moderator: English Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
spartacus735
Sultan
Sultan
Posts: 164
Joined: November 20th, 2011, 12:41 pm
Location: France

Change the sprite of prince of persia

Post by spartacus735 » February 5th, 2014, 5:00 pm

Hi , the last time I asked how to change color of the menu etc..

But now I have another question, it is possible to change the sprite of the game ? ( Menu , Prince animation , guard , level desing , intro/ending animation etc ) Like Pop1 total pack or Prince of Wateria of Norbert ( Pixel art ? )
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> http://www.youtube.com/user/spartacus735 <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< the channel of prince of persia snes mod

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1463
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Change the sprite of prince of persia

Post by David » February 5th, 2014, 6:52 pm

There are no programs (yet) that can edit the sprites of PoP1 SNES.
You mentioned level design. The level graphics can be edited in some limited way with Pr1SnesLevEd.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3115
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Change the sprite of prince of persia

Post by Norbert » December 6th, 2015, 11:18 pm

David wrote:There are no programs (yet) that can edit the sprites of PoP1 SNES.
A tool that would allow us to export and import 'just' the background image of the menu screen (attached; exp0/83.bmp in this package) would be extremely useful. This would allow SNES mod authors to add a personal tag/signature to mods, to set the atmosphere, display the mod and author name, the release year; things like that. Even if we could not change the palette, being able to change this image would be a big thing. Even if we could only use two colors, like black and white. Or if we could only import.
menu_princess.png
main menu background image
menu_princess.png (12.22 KiB) Viewed 789 times
Is compression the biggest hurdle for this?
Maybe this particular image does not use tiled graphics; does that make things a bit easier?

Unfortunately, helping with this is beyond my skills.
I can cheer from the sidelines though, if that helps. :lol:

Image

Andrew
Wise Scribe
Wise Scribe
Posts: 313
Joined: July 16th, 2009, 4:39 pm

Re: Change the sprite of prince of persia

Post by Andrew » December 7th, 2015, 12:00 am

Image

Lovely image. So atmospheric, and I don't mean literally.

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1463
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Change the sprite of prince of persia

Post by David » January 1st, 2016, 11:28 am

Let's see...
Screens *do* use tiled graphics. They must, because that's how the SNES hardware works.

However, things are easier than with level graphics, because:
* each screen has its own set of tiles, and
* there is space for enough different tiles to fill the screen with them.

Palette is not a problem either. Remember that the editor can already edit that.

What *could* be a problem is screens with more than 16 colors.
Luckily, the menu background is *not* one of them.

As for compression, yes, that's missing.
Map compression is similar to that used in the level graphics, and that's already done.
But tile compression is not done yet.
(Maybe I could start with a "dumbed down" compression that uses only method 0x00.)

But first, I want to release the current version. It has some changes since the last one.

User avatar
spartacus735
Sultan
Sultan
Posts: 164
Joined: November 20th, 2011, 12:41 pm
Location: France

Re: Change the sprite of prince of persia

Post by spartacus735 » May 20th, 2016, 12:48 am

One of my friend send me this picture few month ago : Image




It will be perfect to add some picture like that in the game !
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> http://www.youtube.com/user/spartacus735 <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< the channel of prince of persia snes mod

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3115
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Change the sprite of prince of persia

Post by Norbert » May 20th, 2016, 3:22 pm

That image is exp0/79.bmp from this package, converted to RGB, stars removed, color gradient for the background, scaled with interpolation, and with a custom palette. It doesn't look all that pretty, to be honest. If, one day, we can actually change images, it would probably make more sense to customize it further than just what happened in this image.

User avatar
spartacus735
Sultan
Sultan
Posts: 164
Joined: November 20th, 2011, 12:41 pm
Location: France

Re: Change the sprite of prince of persia

Post by spartacus735 » May 20th, 2016, 3:43 pm

Norbert wrote:it would probably make more sense to customize it further than just what happened in this image.
Of course, it was just an idea. In fact, I'm just "level maker" not a graphic artist.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> http://www.youtube.com/user/spartacus735 <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< the channel of prince of persia snes mod

Post Reply