apoplexy for prince 2..

Windows and Linux editor of PoP1 (for DOS and SNES) and PoP2 (for DOS).

Moderator: English Moderator Team

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby salvadorc17 » November 12th, 2014, 2:56 am

Hi, i want to ask norbert of any of you about how to use apoplexy for doing some stuff in prince 2:

-Adding custom tiles events, like for opening doors.
-Adding multiple guards attack in same room.


Can you help me with that, becuase when i try to add multiple guards or custom events, the dosbox seems to crash in room...

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1344
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby David » November 12th, 2014, 1:14 pm

Please upload your edited levels (PRINCE.DAT), so that we can look into it.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2955
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby Norbert » November 12th, 2014, 3:22 pm

salvadorc17 wrote:-Adding custom tiles events, like for opening doors.


This more or less works the same. For level exit doors the raise button points to the right portion of those doors.
Crushing walls in temple levels are activated by drop tiles.

salvadorc17 wrote:-Adding multiple guards attack in same room.


To use multiple guards, change the values in the white area (vertical rectangle) of the guards screen, next to the "CLOSE" button.

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1344
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby David » November 12th, 2014, 7:21 pm

If I understand correctly, his problem is that "dosbox seems to crash", not that he does not know how to do these things.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2955
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby Norbert » November 12th, 2014, 8:52 pm

You are right.
salvadorc17, as David suggested, please add the prince2/PRINCE.DAT file that seems to crash DOSBox.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby salvadorc17 » November 12th, 2014, 9:25 pm

I dont know how to do it becuase when i try to do it, crashes for me...

Check for level 7.
Attachments
PRINCE.DAT
(379.59 KiB) Downloaded 22 times

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2955
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby Norbert » November 12th, 2014, 9:45 pm

salvadorc17 wrote:I dont know how to do it becuase when i try to do it, crashes for me...

Check for level 7.


On the guards screen, try not to use stuff with red borders around them.
Level 7 is the level for floating heads and snakes.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby salvadorc17 » November 12th, 2014, 11:38 pm

Yes is that level, there is problem with those "guards???", also what about custom tiles, freeze when prince touch it...

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1344
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby David » November 13th, 2014, 4:16 pm

There are two problems with that level:
* Room 32 has an invalid tile. Apoplexy displays it as a question mark. (What did you want to put there?)
* Room 31 has a "regular" guard. In this level, you can use only heads and snakes.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby salvadorc17 » November 13th, 2014, 10:05 pm

* Room 32 has an invalid tile. Apoplexy displays it as a question mark. (What did you want to put there?)


Trying to create custom tile with event, using different tile identifier, how to fix it???

* Room 31 has a "regular" guard. In this level, you can use only heads and snakes.


Yes, i does, that means, the levels and rooms have some restrictions for guards types???

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1344
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby David » November 14th, 2014, 10:41 am

salvadorc17 wrote:Trying to create custom tile with event, using different tile identifier, how to fix it???

Do you want to make a button that opens a gate?
Then you can use the events screen (E button), and the "first event of button" on the tiles screen. (Just like in PoP1.)

Or do you want to make a new "special" tile like the flame, the ship, etc.?
This is not possible without heavily editing PRINCE.EXE, which we can't do.

salvadorc17 wrote:Yes, i does, that means, the levels and rooms have some restrictions for guards types???

Yes, you should not use a guard type if there is a red border around its "L/R" boxes.
That is, if the original level has no guards with that type.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby salvadorc17 » November 16th, 2014, 10:07 pm

Do you want to make a button that opens a gate?
Then you can use the events screen (E button), and the "first event of button" on the tiles screen. (Just like in PoP1.)


Yes i want to do this, thanks for all info..

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby salvadorc17 » March 30th, 2015, 2:17 am

Hi, again i want to ask just for general knowledge, if the apoplexy prince 2 level format is kind different from prince 1, i want to retake prince 2 xna project and need to know for the best implementation of levels..

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2955
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby Norbert » March 30th, 2015, 8:55 am

salvadorc17 wrote:prince 2 level format [...] best implementation of levels


A consistent, portable and relatively easily readable way to implement this would be to use XML files with a format similar to the PoP1 XML format.

Below is an overview of all the values you will need, excluding the <level number="<nr>"> and the userdata. Also not included is level data you don't need or cannot use, including: <last room>, "JEFF", Unknown I, <24 x which resources to enable>, Unknown II, dynamic guard values 3 and 4. Here are all the values the XML format would need to provide:

960 values for the level foregrounds (32 rooms x 30 tiles)
3840 values for the level modifiers (32 rooms x 30 tiles x 4 modifiers)
1280 values for the events (256 events x 5 (room, tile, type, left, right))
128 values for room links (32 rooms x 4 (left, right, up, down))
1 value for the level type
3 values for the prince starting position (room, tile, direction)
3712 values for the static guards (32 rooms x (1 (number of guards) + (5 (guards) x 23 (info*)))
18 values for checkpoints
1024 values for dynamic guards (32 rooms x (1 (number of sets) + 1 (skill) + (3 (sets) x 10 (info*))))
960 values for music (32 rooms x 30 tiles)

This is just the basic information, to give you a rough overview what you're looking at and an indication of the work required.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 465
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: apoplexy for prince 2..

Postby salvadorc17 » March 31st, 2015, 9:26 pm

Wow now you get me little confused, what are those values list about, i dont think will need all that info,
960 values for the level foregrounds (32 rooms x 30 tiles)


That means that level have 32 rooms maximun and 30 tiles ( 10 per row) like prince 1???


Return to “apoplexy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest