Apoplexy sprites comparision...

Windows and Linux editor of PoP1 (for DOS and SNES) and PoP2 (for DOS).

Moderator: English Moderator Team

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 502
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Apoplexy sprites comparision...

Postby salvadorc17 » September 14th, 2014, 12:48 am

I want to ask about prince 2 edition, how do you get the tiles showing in correct way, because in the sprites resources they look different, i mean something like this...

Image

The images about show the original sprites resources, but in apoplexy they look better, ready to add it to the level...

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1402
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Apoplexy sprites comparision...

Postby David » September 14th, 2014, 9:40 am

I guess you got the sprites from here: viewtopic.php?f=64&t=3439
Those are from the Macintosh version, while Apoplexy is for the DOS version.

Also, I guess Apoplexy's images were made from screenshots.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 502
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Apoplexy sprites comparision...

Postby salvadorc17 » September 16th, 2014, 9:42 pm

Made from screenshoot, how is that??? thyere fit perfectly in game rendering...

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1402
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Apoplexy sprites comparision...

Postby David » September 17th, 2014, 9:28 am

Do you mean "How did Norbert make screenshots of single tiles, if tiles are always together with other tiles?" ?

He probably made rooms that don't contain anything else.
Like here: viewtopic.php?p=14397#p14397 (images at the bottom of that post)

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3028
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Apoplexy sprites comparision...

Postby Norbert » September 17th, 2014, 11:03 am

Yes, what David writes is correct.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 502
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Apoplexy sprites comparision...

Postby salvadorc17 » September 17th, 2014, 9:36 pm

That is for prince 1, but for prince 2 how to made empty rooms??? there was another editor???

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 3028
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Apoplexy sprites comparision...

Postby Norbert » September 17th, 2014, 10:41 pm

There were other editors for both PoP1 and PoP2.
See the Prince of Persia Modding video for more information, or the Modding Timeline.
I used my own code to create the 'screenshot rooms', not other editors.

apoplexy supports PoP2 since version 2.0.
The version before that was 1.9b and that version added a (PoP1) custom tiles screen.
When I was adding PoP2 support, one of the first things I made available for PoP2 editing was the (PoP2) custom tiles screen.
It allowed me to easily create all the tiles that PoP2 has and then make screenshots of them.

For PoP1 I did something similar, except not with a custom tiles screen but with code that I changed for each tile.
I knew how to create tiles by reading the Specifications of File Formats.
Aforementioned document is dated 5 January 2008, and was published three months before I released the first version of apoplexy.

apoplexy was built on the shoulders of giants (it even needs PR to work).
By that I mean that it wouldn't exist if it wasn't for all the documentation and programs created by Enrique (poirot), Brendon, David and various others.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 502
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: Apoplexy sprites comparision...

Postby salvadorc17 » September 17th, 2014, 11:27 pm

Thanks for the information..


Return to “apoplexy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest