post suggestions here

Windows and Linux editor of PoP1 (for DOS and SNES) and PoP2 (for DOS).

Moderator: English Moderator Team

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: post suggestions here

Postby Norbert » July 6th, 2014, 6:06 pm

Norbert wrote:When it's finished, I'll post some screenshots in the release's forum thread.


I've finished apoplexy 2.3.
Some screenshots and download information here.

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1327
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: post suggestions here

Postby David » July 7th, 2014, 8:46 pm

News about the Xbox controller emulator:
I finally got the configurator to work.
(I had to take out some useless features though, like reading the HDD's serial number... And add useful features like being able to use the keyboard to trigger the emulated buttons.)
Now the problem is that it won't work with SDL. (But it works with the included XInputTest.exe)
That is, SDL_NumJoysticks() returns 0.
The emulator starts, I know it because it writes its messages into the console.

Maybe x360ce is not compatible with SDL?
Some sites suggest that, but nobody says it explicitly:

https://code.google.com/p/x360ce/issues ... an=1&q=SDL
"how to survive uses SDL" "Status: Invalid"
http://www.reddit.com/r/linux_gaming/co ... ontroller/
"Because last i checked the game was using SDL and x360ce was completely unable to get a working hook."
https://code.google.com/p/x360ce/issues/detail?id=911
"SILK engine uses SDL i think, which could explain why x360ce doesn't help at all."

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: post suggestions here

Postby Norbert » July 7th, 2014, 9:24 pm

David wrote:reading the HDD's serial number


It reads the hard disk serial number? Why...

I also tried x360ce recently - before I read your post - to test apoplexy 2.3 under Wine with my controller, but I got this error:
[ERROR] FATAL UNHANDLED EXCEPTION: System.TypeLoadException: Could not load type 'x360ce.App.MainForm' from assembly 'x360ce, Version=2.1.2.191, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null'.
But I guess if it doesn't work with SDL(2), then it doesn't matter either way.

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1327
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: post suggestions here

Postby David » July 8th, 2014, 5:36 pm

Norbert wrote:It reads the hard disk serial number? Why...

The source says something about an online database...
https://code.google.com/p/x360ce/source/browse/trunk/x360ce.Engine/Common/BoardInfo.cs
By the way, it wants to read the serial number in a way that doesn't work under XP (throws an exception), that's why I had to remove it.

Norbert wrote:But I guess if it doesn't work with SDL(2), then it doesn't matter either way.

That's true.
What bugs me is that nobody writes explicitly that "x360ce is not compatible with SDL".

User avatar
Zaknafein
Sheikh
Sheikh
Posts: 40
Joined: May 1st, 2014, 11:40 pm
Location: Menorca

Re: post suggestions here

Postby Zaknafein » November 9th, 2014, 12:06 am

It would be nice if there were an option in apoplexy for changing the appearance of tiles, like floor tile with appearance of empty tile and vice versa, floor tile with appearance of wall, etc. There could be funny levels done with that option.

David
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 1327
Joined: December 11th, 2008, 9:48 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: post suggestions here

Postby David » November 9th, 2014, 1:42 pm

Zaknafein wrote:like floor tile with appearance of empty tile and vice versa, floor tile with appearance of wall, etc.

That is not something that can be done by editing the levels only... with one exception.

Actually there is a way to make a "floor tile with appearance of empty tile":
Video: viewtopic.php?p=12756#p12756
Explanation: viewtopic.php?p=12761#p12761
But this uses a bug of the level 4 special event.
(Actually, it *can* be used elsewhere, but you need to hex-edit the level for that.)

Mods that have such things use custom graphics.
See for example "Prince of Wateria" here: http://www.popot.org/custom_levels.php?action=VDUNGEON.DAT
Or "Repetition of Time" here: http://www.popot.org/custom_levels.php?action=VPALACE.DAT

It might be possible to hex-edit PRINCE.EXE to allow this.
The get_tile_to_draw() function (seg008.c in SDLPoP) seems like a perfect place to do this...

emrtss
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 10
Joined: November 8th, 2014, 11:15 pm

Re: post suggestions here

Postby emrtss » November 22nd, 2014, 6:21 pm

I've got a suggestion, make it so that you can zoom out. This will give you a nice overview of the level.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 458
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: post suggestions here

Postby salvadorc17 » December 2nd, 2014, 3:45 am

exe hacks for prince 2 in appoplexy can be possible???

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: post suggestions here

Postby Norbert » December 2nd, 2014, 5:37 am

salvadorc17 wrote:exe hacks for prince 2 in appoplexy can be possible???


In theory: yes.
In practice: probably never. Too much work. PoP1 is easier because CusPop exists.

salvadorc17
Calif
Calif
Posts: 458
Joined: August 27th, 2011, 2:04 am

Re: post suggestions here

Postby salvadorc17 » December 7th, 2014, 10:06 pm

You have made CusPop??, or do you dont knw how to exe hack the prince of persia 2???

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: post suggestions here

Postby Norbert » December 8th, 2014, 10:51 am

salvadorc17 wrote:You have made CusPop??


Enrique Calot (= poirot) and David.

salvadorc17 wrote:, or do you dont knw how to exe hack the prince of persia 2???


I am insufficiently skilled and do not have the necessary time, nor would I enjoy looking into it.

In my opinion it's also not worth the investment of time.
We are too small a community.
There are 6 PoP2 mods listed at popot.org.

Jeff Tyler
Scholar Scribe
Scholar Scribe
Posts: 2
Joined: March 26th, 2015, 1:11 pm

Re: post suggestions here

Postby Jeff Tyler » March 26th, 2015, 1:21 pm

I'm new for POP1 modding. And your apoplexy it great (and the best I think).
I'm firstly trying to understand how original levels work before starting modding by myself.

There are some newbie question.. please be patient.

1. Can't find event trigger that makes first door to close just after game start. How to make it?
2. Is it possible with editor to make level transition like between 6 and 7 levels in original game? If yes - how? If no - what can do it?
3. Special events (like mirror, shadow appearance, shadow trick at the end of 6 level) - what are they? With what instrument it's possible to reproduce it?)
4. Can't find any manual instead of your 2 video instructions. Is that all?
5. How to rename levels?

Sorry for annoying.

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: post suggestions here

Postby Norbert » March 26th, 2015, 2:53 pm

Hi Jeff, welcome to the Princed forum.

To answer your first four questions (1-4), see:
http://www.popot.org/documentation/docu ... Events.pdf
(And this.)

Your last question (5), the level names are not visible to players.
They were made up by various people.

MP
Efendi
Efendi
Posts: 11
Joined: March 20th, 2012, 7:24 pm

Re: post suggestions here

Postby MP » August 9th, 2015, 4:00 pm

I suggest making in the next version of apoplexy some keyboard shortcuts, which will make creating rooms and levels quicker and more comfortable, as it is in RoomShaker. There I just press, for example, "f" and I make floor, I press "s" and I make spikes etc. In apoplexy I have to choose element for every tile, what is a bit annoying. I know, that in the newest version of apoplexy is a button, which allows simply add last used element (is a quote button - "), but still RoomShaker is more comfortable...But apoplexy has some options, which is not available in RoomShaker, so I would like to use it, but a lack of these keyboard shortcuts discourages me.
From less important things: is also a bit irritating, that chompers move, when I edit a room...How I write: it isn't a very important thing, but I don't see a reason to be like that, so...

User avatar
Norbert
The Prince of Persia
The Prince of Persia
Posts: 2935
Joined: April 9th, 2009, 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: post suggestions here

Postby Norbert » August 9th, 2015, 8:52 pm

MP wrote:keyboard shortcuts [...] for example, "f" and I make floor, I press "s" and I make spikes etc


I'll look into it.

In about a week I will release version 2.7, which will include some minor improvements (example: enable all resources if necessary+possible) and bug fixes (example: several more spike types than currently indicated - with the 'not sign' - don't hurt the player). It shouldn't be too difficult to add some keyboard shortcuts to make your life easier. ;)

MP wrote:irritating, that chompers move, when I edit a room


Maybe one of the already available command-line options can help you with this.
To disable all animations, use "apoplexy -s".
To disable only the chomp sound (in case it annoys you), use "apoplexy -q".


Return to “apoplexy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest